Portabella Pizza’s & Paleo Pumpkin Bread

I am on a cooking/baking roll! Seriously, this should probably stop for the sake of my bank account…

Last night I made the hubby and I Portabella Pizza’s, which we paired with left over Twice Baked Cauliflower. These were super easy to make and super delicious. My husband described them as “everything good from a pizza except the crust!”. That made me laugh. I personally love mushrooms on my pizza, so this really was everything good. I changed the recipe just a little.

Portabella Pizza’s

Ingredients

  • 2 large portabella caps
  • 1/4-1/2 cup marinara (we used Whole Foods Marinara)
  • 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella or other Italian cheese
  • 10-ish pepperonis
  • 1 slice deli ham, thick cut, chopped
  • 1 tbsp shredded Parmesan cheese

Directions

  1. Bake Portabella Caps on a baking sheet for 5 minutes @ 350°F. I was unsure whether to bake them with the top of the mushroom up or down, but I don’t think it really matters. I baked them top up, since I figured they’d be top down for the rest of the cooking.
  2. Fill the inside of the mushroom with sauce & ham. Top with cheese & pepperonis. Bake for another 20 minutes. Ours looked something like this:
Image

Portabella Pizzas, after baking

Beware! These leak juices like crazy. I’m not sure if it was just the sauce we used, or the actual mushroom (I think it was partially the mushroom, partially the pepperonis), but I had to use a paper towel to sop up the liquid twice so it didn’t drain into the oven. Use a pan with sides!!

After dinner I took a trip to Trader Joe’s and spent $50 too much money, got stuck in traffic and a storm on the way home:

Image

When I returned from Trader Joe’s, Almond Flour in hand, I made Paleo Pumpkin Bread! It turned out a little dry, but overall had an excellent, spicy, fall flavor. Next time I will add more pumpkin (I think this will solve the dryness and the lack of super pumpkin flavor — I am a pumpkin lover). I, of course, topped my pumpkin bread with peanut butter, as seen in this photo:

Image

Paleo Pumpkin Bread with Peanut Butter

Paleo Pumpkin Bread

Ingredients

  • 1 cup almond flour, Trader Joe’s
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp cloves
  • 1/2 pumpkin puree, Publix Brand (I will increase this to 1 cup next time)
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1/2 tsp Stevia in the Raw
  • 3 eggs

Directions

  1. Mix almond flour, salt, baking soda, and spices in a bowl.
  2. Mix pumpkin puree, honey, Stevia, eggs in a separate bowl.
  3. Mix all ingredients together either using a whisk (my choice) or handheld mixer (it’s not necessary, but I would have used mine if the beaters weren’t in the dishwasher).
  4. Bake in a loaf pan (or mini loaf pan) for 30 minutes at 350° F.

After my night of cooking, baking, and running errands, I found a friend taking up 3/4 of our King size bed:

Image

I love human beds

Yesterday was a great calorie/carb day for me. I was at around 1250 calories and 91 carbs, which is good considering I didn’t exercise! I’m super excited to go to the gym during my lunch hour & have a good weekend full of running! Until we meet I bake again…

2 thoughts on “Portabella Pizza’s & Paleo Pumpkin Bread

  1. Pingback: Product Review & A Bad Day (and moving on from that bad day!) « Low Sugar // Low Carbs // Long Runs

Leave a Reply

