Knockin’ the Sweet Tooth One Day at a Time

Even with an accidental blogging hiatus, the low carb diet continues. 

And it’s going pretty good!

My sweet tooth is already disintegrating, and turning into a carb tooth.

Bread. Biscuits. Pizza. Cheeseburgers. Pasta. 

Yep, one step closer to carb freedom. A few more days and I should stop these nasty cravings!

I’m not going too low carb or anything. I’ve been trying to just stay below 100g. I finished Friday with 84g, Saturday was 112g (darn Vanilla Iced Coffee from Starbucks – my weakness!), Sunday was 112g (too much fruit), and today finished at 92g. I have lost 5.6 lbs since August 1st, most of that was water weight/bloating from my super-carb day on 7/31. 

I started Saturday with a 4 mile run. The first mile I had a companion:

Image

Maybe if I follow her around she’ll bring me with…

…and the last 3 miles were solo. I love my new neighborhood, so many hills!

Sunday I ran 2 miles, one w/ Calvin and 1 sweaty, fast mile alone. It felt good!

Tonight was a group fitness class, Arms & Core Crusher, and tomorrow is a 3 mile run, 2 mile walk with a friend, and possibly a fitness class. I’m just piling things on! The more exercise the better!

A friend on Facebook posted a photo of some dark chocolate nut clusters she made today, so I’ll definitely be posting a (super easy) recipe/photos later this week! Think dark chocolate, coconut oil, cashews, peanuts, almonds, and unsweetened shredded coconut? Yum!

…and tomorrow night is a new pork rib recipe. I’ll definitely post that tomorrow night.

Half marathon training official begins on Saturday, things are going to get pretty routine around here!

2 thoughts on “Knockin’ the Sweet Tooth One Day at a Time

  1. Hello,
    Recently you have been writing about eating low carb.

    Respectfully, eating low carb to lose weight combined with your 4 mile runs should perhaps be below 50 grams of carbs a day. For a couple of weeks, at least. It is known as Dr. Robert Atkins Induction Level. For those not running those long distances due to arthritis…20 grams of carbs a day is in order.

    You will find if you eat this way…the weight you seek to shed will just disappear.

    I am of the opinion that you are eating too many carbs…plain and simple…even with all that running. But be careful the hard pounding of knees and ankles and hips will bring on arthritis later in life. The annoying pain of arthritis throbs until exhaustion sets in.

    Regards,
    Glad

    • Hi Glad,

      Thanks for the comment, but I think we’ve been through this before. 4 miles is on the lower end of my running spectrum (up to 14 miles), so 100 g carbs is still low compared to most people running those distances (especially compared to what I used to eat a day, which was an upwards of 250g!). I am not following the Atkins diet, I am simply eating lower carbs, cleaner foods. I am not just “trying to lose weight”, but trying to promote a healthier lifestyle for myself and others.

      And obviously my version of low carbs is working, since I’ve lost 5 lbs so far in the last week!

      -Ariel

Leave a Reply

