thebeginning

I’ve decided to blog about my adventure into a low carb, low sugar diet, while still continuing my half marathon training, and (hopefully, in the future) marathon training.

I LOVE TO RUN. Ever since I started in the winter of 2011 I’ve known it’s the activity for me.  I love group runs (ChristianRunners.org has been so helpful) and the feeling you get after you’ve reached that 10 mile mark. I even (sort of) love the haggard way my feet are looking after too many long runs to count. There’s only one problem…

MY BMI SAYS I’M OBESE. I’m not arguing with it, I’m just stating that fact. It’s important for the reason I’ve decided to try low sugar, low carbs.  I have lost about 30 pounds between August 2011 and November 2011, and another 10 lbs between January 2012 and May 2012. Since May, I have been on a lull. My eating habits have varied from excellent to terrible day by day. In my head, I KNOW that I only have lose the weight once, get it right, and then move on with my life. BUT I want to make a life style change. I don’t want my future children to be in the predicament I am in now, 26 and OBESE (for most of my life). So, I am continuing on toward a healthy me…

I’M SEDENTARY DURING THE DAY. I work from home, spending about 8 hours a day in front of the computer. I walk the dog for about a mile to a mile and a half in the morning, followed by 3 to 4 quarter mile walks the rest of the day. The only other exercise I really get is when I’m running, playing tennis once a week, or going to the gym (which rarely happens, I hate the gym). Because of this sedentary lifestyle, I really think it’s been harder for me to lose weight. EVEN SO, all of the websites I have found information on say I should lose more weight than I do each week. Because of the huge discrepancy between predicted weight loss and actual weight loss, I’ve agreed to try a low carb, low sugar diet with my husband. The truth is…

I’M WORRIED IT WILL AFFECT MY RUNNING. I’ve heard so many people say that you should eat more carbs when you run, but with carbs come sugar, and sugar is just something I am unable to do in moderation. I’ve learned this through my college years. When I remove candy from my life, I am great. I don’t even crave the stuff after a week or so. When I eat even the TINIEST bit, I WANT IT ALL THE TIME EVERYDAY. It seriously is like an addiction for me. SO, I am giving up candy. I am also going to do low carb, aiming for about 100 g a day when I do not run, upping it to 150-200 g a day when I do my long runs (6 mi +). The reason for the increase is that I don’t want to change my morning routine before a long run. I wake up, drink some water and eat a Cliff Bar. When I am running, I drink about 20 oz gatorade (regular, not low calorie), and eat some sort of carb-heavy gels or gu at mile 6 (& mile 3 if I’m feeling super sluggish that morning). Between the Cliff Bar, gatorade, and gels I am eating approximately 60 g carbs, hence the necessary increase for the running days. I know I am probably being a picky, high maintenance runner, but I’m still a beginner, so I’m allowing myself these (probably) unnecessary carbs for now!

MY RUNNING TIMES ARE ON A STEADY DECREASE, AND I LIKE IT. My first half marathon was in May 2011, and I finished just under 3 hours. I completed my first 10K July 2011, with a time of 1:16. In April 2012 I ran my second half marathon and finished with a time of 2:29 (Zooma Training runs were the only thing that helped me acheive this time. I highly reccomend signing up for a Zooma race and taking advantage of their Ambassadors and training runs – zoomarun.com)! Even better, On July 4, 2012, I ran my first Peachtree Road Race 10K and finished with a time of 1:08 (even though it was hot and humid!). I love the fact that I am getting faster. I used to run a 14 minute mile, and am now consistently under a 11:30 minute mile every run, sometimes evening getting close to a 10 minute mile. I don’t want this to change! I am going to monitor my pace and endurance closely as a embark on this low carb, low sugar lifestyle and adjust as necessary.

LOSING WEIGHT IS MY ULTIMATE GOAL. I am determined to get to a healthy BMI by May 2013. This gives me 10 months to lose 63 pounds. That is a total of 6.3 pounds a month, 1-2 pounds a week. I KNOW I can do it, I just need to stay FOCUSED and stay MOTIVATED. I’m hoping this blog can help me do that. And finally…

WHY I CHOSE TO BLOG. I don’t keep a journal. I don’t really write much down except lists of things to do or buy. I always loved writing in school, but I just never continued doing it. I thought a blog would be a good way to record this journey in my life, and hopefully help some other folks achieve their goals along the way! Things are always easier when you do them together!

THANK YOU FOR READING! Feel free to comment or send me messages, I’d love to hear from you, I would love any low carb recipes, running tips, or suggestions you may have to help me achieve my goal.

Leave a Reply

