DAY 5: first low carb run, complete!

While I was eating my salad for lunch, it got me thinking about how much processed, crappy food I ate before this diet. I used to eat Quaker instant oatmeal or sugary cereal for breakfast, a cliff bar for lunch, and countless super processed foods as snacks during the day. I was only focusing on calories. It just seems ridiculous that I would put so little thought into what I was putting into my body! Even if low carbs, low sugar doesn’t work out, and I can’t do it for the rest of my life, I’m happy to have had experienced it so that I could see how badly I was eating, even when I was “dieting” and “eating healthy”!

Today was my first low carb run! It was only 3 miles, with the dog (since I woke up too late to walk him AND run), but it went pretty well! I had a headache when I woke up, so I made some Gatorade in my handheld run bottle, put the puppy in his harness and hit the road. It was a super slow start, it was hot, humid, and the first half mile outside my house is uphill. We walked the first 1/5 mile, waited for a traffic light to turn and he also stopped to go to the bathroom. We finished the first mile in 16:22, and the next 2 we finished in about 24 minutes, so all in all it wasn’t a terrible run! I’m just happy I finally dragged myself out of bed, even if it was after 3 snoozes =)Image

The hubby stopped home for lunch so I got to make us both salads! I made them with romaine lettuce, 1 roma tomato, ¼ cucumber, ¼ cup shredded cheese, 3 oz pre-cooked Tyson chicken (yum! I love this stuff!), ½ avocado (I had one to use up), and 2 tbsp light ranch and 1 tbsp light northern Italian dressing mixed together, in each.  This salad did a great job keeping me full until dinner!

We ate left over spaghetti squash and meatballs for dinner and I also had some of my PB2 Cool Whip AND 7 dark chocolate covered peanuts I got from Whole Foods. Definitely had enough sweets today! Even with both of those, I’m still at 90 carbs and around 1450 calories, which is okay by me! I did some grocery shopping after work I spent way too much money again. I’ve got to do some serious planning to keep our food budget under control next week. All this meat and fresh food is expensive! Does anyone have any suggestions for budget tightening while still eating low carb?

One thought on “DAY 5: first low carb run, complete!

  1. Pingback: DAY TWENTY-FOUR: cooking low carb | Low Sugar // Low Carbs // Long Runs

Leave a Reply

