DAY SEVEN: one week low carb complete!

Technically one week is tomorrow morning, but since I’m (hopefully) done eating for the night I think it’s okay to do my post now! I’m sure a lot of it is water weight, but my first week on my low carb diet I lost 4.2 lbs! I’ll do a final weigh in tomorrow morning and include it in my next post. But wow! I was so surprised/happy to see the scale go down every single day this week! I even over ate on my calories by at least 150 every day (my goal is 1200 calories). I hope next week goes this well!

Before getting to my meals, I want to apologize for not including many runs on my blog. I really let the fact that this was my first week eating low carb affect my exercising, which defeats the purpose of this blog. I wanted to track how I felt running long distances while eating low carb, not just my diet and recipes. SO, beginning tomorrow, I will be seriously sticking to my running schedule (3 long runs 6+ miles a week, 1-2 cross trains, 1 short run) and posting about it! I am determined to keep decreasing my overall half race time and lose weight, and I want to track both of them! So next week will be better!

I chose to mix things up today and started my day with a smoothie:

  • 1 cup unsweetened coconut milk
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 instant coffee packet
  • 1 scoop chocolate whey protein powder
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 2 cups spinach

460 calories, 22 carbs

My lunch was an egg scramble, which had

2 slices bacon, 2 eggs, 2 slices american cheese (290 calories, 4 carbs). I also had two iced coffees and my gummy vitamins today for a total of 41 carbs. I really enjoyed my second cup of coffee; I was low on carbs so I made it extra delicious with extra vanilla syrup! (Not a good picture, but believe me, it was great!) Yum!

Image

I had cashews as a snack (8 carbs).

I marinated our steaks all day using an Emeril Lagasse recipe. I thought they turned out delicious! I cooked them on our Cuisnart Griddler (best thing ever for apartment living where you aren’t allowed to have a grill). I didn’t have any soy sauce, so I will have to try the recipe again in a few weeks. We ate our steak with left over broccoli carrot mash from yesterday, still just as good heated up! I’m linking the broccoli carrot mash again because it is THAT delicious. Everyone. Must. Try!!

475 calories, 20 carbs

Alright, so, my goals for the next week are to:

  • continue under 100g carbs a day, giving myself a little extra on long run days
  • Keep up with my running goals
  • Continue avoiding candy!!
  • Lose weight (I’m not putting down a number because I don’t know what a realistic goal is)
  • Stay happy and focused!!

Tomorrow is a long run day (11 miles), so I’m praying that it’ll go well. I just have to stay focused, and thankfully I will have my motivation through the other runners with the group (Christian Runners)!

Have a nice Friday night!

2 thoughts on “DAY SEVEN: one week low carb complete!

  1. Pingback: DAY THIRTY-ONE: Goal completed! | Low Sugar // Low Carbs // Long Runs

  2. Pingback: Changes! « Low Sugar // Low Carbs // Long Runs

Leave a Reply

