8.5 miles later….

I only managed to do 8.5 miles this morning, and I’m okay with it because:

  • It was SO HUMID! I heard the number 90% thrown around this morning
  • I had a negative attitude going into it, thinking it would be hard, so that may have contributed to it actually being hard
  • It was HILLY
  • It rained….twice!
  • I had hip pain (very sad about this, I need to cross train more)
  • I was drinking the low calorie Gatorade instead of regular, which I don’t normally do
  • I only ran 6 miles total this week (between Sunday and Friday)

I am NOT going to assume my run was hard because of my low carb diet. I AM going to try again next week, doing all the same things I did this week, and see if it is easier. The first 6 miles were hard, but I managed to finish with a time of 1:34. Thats a little over an 11 min/mi pace. I am okay with that! Sure, I would love to be faster, but I will take it for now! I want to thank Christian Runners for giving me smiles and encouraging words during the run! I couldn’t do it without you guys.

ImageI woke up at 5:30 and jumped on the scale – final weight loss for the week is 4.9 lbs! I could NOT be any happier about this number! I’m sure a lot of it is water weight, but this number gave me the green light in my mind to go ahead with week two. =) I then got my super carb breakfast ready (that was enjoyed during the next few hours — Cliff Bar before walking the dog, water after walking him and while driving to the meeting spot, Gatorade and chews during the run. Ironically, the Gatorade bottle doesn’t actually have Gatorade in it, it’s water, and my hand held water bottle contains the low calorie version of Gatorade!

Image

After finishing my run I avoided the temptation to stop over at Einstein Bagel (which was literally RIGHT next door — and my favorite bagels in the whole world), and I instead went to the Starbucks across the street for a Trenta Vanilla Iced Coffee to share with the hubby:

Image

I’m at home, showered, have already eaten my egg, bacon, cheese egg “scramble” (in case anyone is wondering, this is a term I made up because I couldn’t just call this delicious meal “scrambled eggs”), and am drinking some water. Today is our first trip to the Dekalb Farmer’s Market in a few months! It’s a pain to go there because it’s so huge & busy on weekends, but we are going to see if we can get our grocery bill down to something a little more reasonable by shopping there. Wish us luck!

–A

2 thoughts on “8.5 miles later….

Leave a Reply

