DAY ELEVEN: I love healthy smoothies!

I never really thought much about how much sugar and carbs were in my “healthy” smoothies before this diet. Even now, it’s sometimes difficult to remain in a “healthy” range. But I can’t deny my love for these sweet meal replacements. I made sure to buy low carb whey powder and now use unsweetened almond, coconut, or soy milk in them, but the carbs are still always between 20-30! I can’t imagine what my old smoothies looked like!

Actually, that’s a lie. My old “healthy” smoothies included the use of a Boost Nutritional Drink, which contains 41 carbs!!! I then would add peanut butter AND a banana. Just those 3 ingredients comes to an amazing 70 carbs. When I did the math the other day I was shocked. No wonder I am a recovering sugar addict!

Today’s breakfast smoothie included:

  • 1 scoop french vanilla whey protein powder
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 banana
  • 2 cups spinach

I prefer the chocolate whey powder, but since I favored it last week I’ve got to try and use my vanilla up. Next I am going to use coconut milk in the smoothie and add coconut extract, I can’t wait to try it!

Smoothie loving aside, I have actually been feeling quite sick the last few days. I think I had some sort of virus, with a stuffy nose, headaches all day everyday, stomach ache, chills…UGH! It was awful. I have not exercised since Saturday morning. I also slept about 12 hours yesterday, and am feeling better so far today! My stomach still hurts a little, but I am going to go to the gym on my lunch break and run a few miles on the treadmill. If I feel alright, I’ll run a few more outside tonight. My calorie intake has been all over the place, but my carb consumption has been right around 100, so I’m happy about that.

My half marathon is in 31 days, so I’ve got to get back into my running rhythm. I just need to remember I can do this…

3 thoughts on “DAY ELEVEN: I love healthy smoothies!

  1. Pingback: DAY TWENTY-THREE: sharing my new low sugar life style | Low Sugar // Low Carbs // Long Runs

  2. Pingback: DAY TWENTY-SEVEN: updates & a fun fact! | Low Sugar // Low Carbs // Long Runs

  3. Pingback: DAY TWENTY-EIGHT: less is more! | Low Sugar // Low Carbs // Long Runs

Leave a Reply

