DAY THIRTEEN: cantaloupe is quite possible the best carb!

Last night at the gym I did a treadmill run. I altered the speed and incline throughout. I ran 4 miles with an avg split of 11:15. The treadmill is easier physically, but mentally it is draining. I can’t wait to run outside tonight!

Today was a good day. I woke up and hopped on the scale and was happy to see a 1 lb decrease from yesterday, which brings my total up to 6 lbs in a little under 2 weeks! I sure hope this trend continues.

I only had one iced coffee and didn’t eat breakfast (eggs, sausage, cheese) until 10. For lunch I had left over spaghetti squash, trader joe’s garlic marinara, and cheddar cheese. I snacked on some cantaloupe in the mid afternoon. Dinner was this delicious combo:

Image

Steak & green beans with pine nuts

I marinated the steak for ~ 8 hours using:

  • Kickin’ Chicken Seasoning (Weber)
  • Olive Oil
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Soy Sauce
  • Crushed Garlic Cloves

The greens beans were made as follows:

  • melt 3 tbsp butter in pan, mix in 3/4 tsp salt and 1/2 cup pine nuts
  • stir constantly until butter is brown, not burnt (i’m really bad at constantly stirring things so this step may have been altered)
  • turn off heat and add in 2 tsp lemon juice. wait until sizzling stops and then toss in green beans

This dinner was delicious! I had a 4.5 oz piece of steak and about 1.5 cups of the greens beans, around 400 calories and 7 carbs.

My totals for the day are 73 carbs and 1336 calories. I am planning on waiting another hour and then going for a slow jog with the pooch, probably 3 miles or so. I better bring him some water though, he’s a slacker!!

Image

Leave a Reply

