DAY FOURTEEN: now what do I do with all this bacon grease?

With week two low carbs commencing, I’ve been thinking a lot about low carb mistakes that I could make at any moment. I’ve already fallen prey to eating too many calories issue.  I found these two websites to keep me on top of my low carb game! Diet Doctor and Low Carb Diets.  They have some good tips that will keep me accountable.

Today, as I made my 5th serving of bacon in the last week, I realized I have entirely too much bacon grease. In the last two weeks Adam and I have eaten about 4 packs of bacon — wow!! It makes a lot of grease!!

Luckily, I have a slimy little puppy to give some to with his dry food.

Image

But what do I do with the rest of it? I cooked some meatballs in about a cup of it. But I’ve got about 5 cups just sitting in the fridge! So, today I googled: what to do with bacon grease. Another site told me to use it basically anytime I would normally use butter. I am going to have to use some of these tips next week!

Tonight I made No Carb Pizza (my modified recipe at the end), which actually turned out to have carbs, since I used Trader Joe’s Marinara instead of “no sugar added” sauce. IT WAS SO GOOD!! I honestly could not even tell that the dough was not real pizza dough.

Image

I took my slice to go since I had an appointment for a hair cut, but the hubby ate his full 1/3 (of the pizza) serving (510 calories, 4.5 carbs).

ImageImage

I highly, highly, highly recommend this recipe!! It was so delicious and filling. I ate a small side salad after I got back from my appointment.

Tomorrow is the longest run I’ve had to complete so far while I have been on this diet — 12 miles. I’m planning on taking it super slow and making sure I just finish. I am going to bring two gels with and some gatorade, and I know I can do it! I ate extra carbs today (112 total) to make sure I am fueled (if that’s not a myth), and I’m going into the run with a positive attitude. I will complete them!

No Carb Pizza

-Crust

  • 8 oz cream cheese (full of fat kind)
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 2 eggs, whisked
  • some fresh ground black pepper (i twisted the grinding mechanism about 20 times)
  • some garlic powder (~1/2 tsp)
  • some onion powder (~1/2 tsp)

The rest

After you’ve mixed all of that goodness, butter a 9×13 pan real good and poor the “dough” in. Bake it 17 minutes (make sure the edges are browned). After that, let it cool 10 minutes (they emphasize letting it cook completely, I’m not sure why but I listened and it worked out great!) and add on 1/2 cup of the sauce of your choice (Trader Joe’s marinara for us + whatever seasonings you want; I used more garlic powder, basil, and oregano), 1 cup mozzarella (more if you are a cheese lover, but 1 cup was fine), and toppings (I used regular pepperonis). Bake it for another 8-10 minutes or until the cheese is melted. Yum!!!

1/3 this recipe = 510 calories and 4.5 carbs, but it will vary with whatever you choose to change!

Leave a Reply

