Diet or Lifestyle?

I know that I keep calling this thing I’m doing a “low carb diet”, but in reality it’s a lifestyle change. I know I am a sugar addict, and I’m going to be one for the rest of my life. That’s why I am going to have to watch some part of my diet forever. Wether it be counting calories, fat, sugar…anything. And at this point in time I feel like I choose to monitor sugar.

Last night when I was on the phone with my best friend, she asked me how my “diet” was going. For some reason this rubbed me the wrong way. Diet sounds so temporary…but what I’m doing here is meant to be long term. I just felt the need to clarify in case anyone thought I’m only doing a quick diet & would then go back to the fatty me (no pun intended, since I’m actually eating more fat on this diet then before). The number of carbs I allow myself to eat may change slightly, but I’ll always be aware of my intake! I’m in this for the long haul!

It is such a pain to have my life ruled by food, ruled by desires and taste and emotional eating. But this is something I will continue to battle with my entire life, and I plan on winning!

Leave a Reply

