DAY SIXTEEN: ahhh…recovery runs

I don’t really know the science behind them, or why they are suggested for the day after a long run…all I know is that this morning my slow recovery run with the pooch felt so good on my sore calves and hip. I’m not sure how long you are supposed to run for, but I did a little over 2.5 miles in 31 minutes. This “recovery run” was more of a walk/run stop/run (Calvin, my dog, likes to pee on everything and often chases squirrels, so we have to stop and sit and calm down before continuing). It felt really good though. I amaze myself that I so often choose over sleep on Sunday instead of going on recovery runs because I always feel good after I am finished and I have never once regretted waking up early to go on one. The human mind is an interesting thing..

I feel like I have to admit that we did spend some of the stop portion of our stop/run taking some photos. There’s something so peaceful about running on a nature trail in the early morning when the only people you come across and other runners!

Image

Trader Joe’s Almond Goods

I skipped breakfast and just drank coffee so we wouldn’t be late for church. We drove over to Trader Joe’s really quickly before coming back home and picked up some grapefruits, apples, coconut milk, nuts, and of course some things we in no way needed: Almond Butter and Sea Salt & Turbinado Sugar Dark Chocolate Almonds. These almonds are a MUST TRY!! We first had them a few years ago at the beach and fell in love.  We bought the almond butter because a lot of Paleo sites use it, so we wanted to give it a try. I’ll update later how it turns out!

I ate 3 left over breakfast sausage links and a cheese stick (also something I had no plans of buying before seeing at Trader Joe’s) for 220 calories and 0 g carbs when I got home. I then tried my hand at a lower calorie smoothie and was very happy with the results!

Very Berry Vanilla Coconut Smoothie (inspired by the Vanilla Berry Smoothie found on Mark’s Daily Apple)

  • 1/4 avocado
  • 1 scoop french vanilla whey protein
  • 1/2-1 cup frozen or fresh berries
  • 1 cup unsweetened coconut milk
  • 1 handful ice

The key to this smoothie is the avocado. I hadn’t thought of adding it, but that 1/4 of an avocado makes this smoothie so creamy and adds just a little sweetness. I was only going to use 1/2 cup berries, but it was a little too coconut flavored for my tastes, so I added 1/2 cup fresh raspberries.

282 calories // 25g carbs

I am planning on going to the gym tonight with my hubby to learn how to lift weights properly. I’m so excited because I’ve been lifting incorrectly for years!! I don’t think it will make me like weight lifting anymore, but it will be nice to do it correctly the 1-2 times a week (mostly 1) I go =)

Have a nice Sunday afternoon everyone!

the sun was just reaching the tips of the trees when we ran by

the lake had a little man-made waterfall at the other end..so cute!

we came across a neat little foot bridge near the lake

Leave a Reply

