Week 2 Weigh In

I kept forgetting to write an entry about my weight, so here it is 2.5 weeks into my low carb, low sugar journey. I am happy to announce that I have lost another 2.5 lbs since my last update! That brings my total weight lost since July 7, 2012 up to 7.4 lbs! I know that some of this is water weight, and that if I decided to carb up I’d gain some back, but I am happy with the results so far.

I want anyone who is starting out doing low carb to know that your weight will fluctuate. The first week I went down consistently every single day (I can be a compulsive weigher when I don’t stop myself). It was so awesome! Then the second week happened, which was much different. My weight went up on 3 separate days, which really irritated me, but I didn’t let it get me down (and neither should you)! During weight loss it’s normal! It’s the end product that counts. It seems to me that my weekly weigh-ins should be in the middle of the week, after a low carb day. I carb up a little on Friday and Saturday to make up for my long runs, and I think I must retain some water too because my weight is always higher on Saturday and Sunday mornings (I was down 1 lb today from what I weighed in at yesterday morning).

I am going to try to keep my calories around 1300 during the week, and eat a little extra on the weekends since I’m more active. I will keep you updated, hopefully in a more timely fashion!

Bottom line is: stick with it! This diet rocks!

2 thoughts on “Week 2 Weigh In

  1. Great attitude! Your going to reach your goals for sure. Just wanted to comment on water weight gain. If you are eating more carb’s for your long runs you will retain water. Every carb (glucose) that is stored in your muscles will attach to two water molecules. So you will gain a little but that water will be needed for your long run and keep you from being dehydrated.
    Also keep in mind that if you are cutting back on your calories and carb’s especially, your fuel source to work out will be reduced. So I would recommend keeping your long runs at a very easy pace. Too fast and you will run out of fuel (glucose, normally you have about 90 minutes stored in your muscles/liver). Then your energy source will be fat, which is good to lose weight, but if your running too fast your body can’t burn enough fat fast enough to keep you fueled and you will feel like crap. This is called hitting the wall, or bonking. You can read about that at my blog 😉 (shameless plug). Keep up the great work, I look forward to seeing following your progress.

Leave a Reply

