DAY TWENTY-THREE: sharing my new low sugar life style

I’ve been trying to share my new low sugar life style with the family that has been visiting. Today I did this by making everyone scrambled eggs, bacon, and 3-ingredient pancakes! I’m saying 3-ingredient pancakes because I altered them today to use peanut butter instead of almond butter. This made them so savory and delicious. I am a huge fan of peanut butter. I love it on just about anything. So using it in these pancakes gave them a roasted peanut taste that was so spectacular! Next time I try this recipe, I am going to use a more natural, chunky peanut butter, instead of the skippy I had on hand for today’s pancakes.

3-Ingredient Pancakes

  • 1 egg
  • 2 mashed bananas, the riper the better
  • 1-2 tbsp nut butter

Mix all ingredients. Heat a pan and coat with butter. Cook pancakes until done on both sides. This recipes makes 5-6 medium sized pancakes. I ate them plain today, but I usually use about 1/2-1 tsp honey or 1 tbs light syrup. 550 calories (with 1 1/2 tbsp nut butter), 53 g carbs (for one batch)

The family loved them!! I really hope that my sister-in-law makes them at home. I love how sweet these cakes are because of the banana. My niece (8 year old) and nephew (3 year old) also liked these pancakes! It always feels good to please the kiddos!

MY WEEK OF TEMPTATION IS FINALLY OVER!! I am so thankful for family to visit, but so thankful I can get back on course with my diet! I ate too may calories 4 of the 7 days this week and too many carbs 3 of the 7. I exercised 4 days this week instead of the 5-6 I usually try to do. With this being said, I still managed to lose 0.8 lbs! That brings my total up to 8.4 lbs in the last 3 weeks! It could be better, but I am happy with my results so far. And, like I continue to say, how easy it is to eat low sugar, low carb.

This morning I woke up at 6:45, walked the puppy, and ran a 2.5 mi (29:50) recovery run that landed me at the grocery store. I’m happy with my time of 29:50 because it is over all a fairly hilly run! I then picked up a few things we didn’t have at our house (milk for the kids, bananas, strawberries) and walked home. Today I walked a total of 1.5 mi and ran 2.5. I’ll take it for my “recovery” day! I’m so thankful for the ability to do these recovery runs. For a long time I felt so exhausted and mentally unable to do a run the day after a long run; I really feel blessed to be able to run even a short distance and just feel good afterwards on a Sunday morning. I can tell I am growing in my physical ability to run and in my state of mind towards running. I just am starting to love running so much!

This weeks recipes will include Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Wraps (using low carb wraps), Primal Texas Chili, and hopefully one of the many delicious desserts I have favorite placed in my “Bookmarks” bar! I can’t wait to try some new meals this week!

Have a wonderful Sunday!

Leave a Reply

