DAY TWENTY-FOUR: cooking low carb

Today I tried a new low-carb recipe for dinner. I sort of combined a few recipes to make low-carb buffalo chicken wraps. I used this site for the crock-pot method, and I used a recipe from my Betty Crocker calendar for the initial idea. My recipe looked like this:

Low Carb Buffalo Chicken Wraps

Ingredients

  • 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 diced onion
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 cups chicken broth, 1 cup water
  • 3/4 cup Frank’s Red Hot Buffalo Wing Sauce
  • 10 low carb wraps (I used Trader Joe’s)
  • assorted toppings (lettuce, blue cheese dressing, ranch dressing, cheddar cheese…)

Directions

  1. Place chicken thawed chicken breasts in crock pot with 3 cups chicken broth, 1 cup water, 1 diced onion, 2 minced garlic cloves on “HIGH” for 1-2 hours, reduce heat to low, cook another 1 hour or until chicken is done.
  2. Remove chicken and shred with 2 forks (or in my case, a fork and a spoon, which is all I had handy!)
  3. Reserve 1 cup chicken broth, dump the rest
  4. Return shredded chicken, 1 cup chicken broth, and Frank’s Red Hot to crock pot. Cook on low for 1 hour.
  5. I made each tortilla using 1 wrap, ~1/3 cup chicken, 1 tbsp blue cheese dressing, and some shredded lettuce.

Using this method, they came to 147 calories, 11 g carbs for each wrap. I served them with steamed broccoli and sweet potato fries. Yum!! This recipe was so tasty! The hubby enjoyed just eating the chicken plain as well. It was also super easy to make!

Image

Yummy sweet potato fries in the oven

Tonight I had tennis lessons. They weren’t too hard, but I feel so tired now that I’m home. I played an extra hour with two friends from class working on my volleys and serves (which are getting slightly better, I guess…) If only tennis were as easy as running!!

Tomorrow is a longer-ish run, 5-7 miles. I’m going to try for 7 this time. I have only been averaging about 5 mi on my weeknight runs, so I’m going to try to kick it up a notch this week! I will just take it slow and start a little later to avoid the heat, maybe around 7:30.

While on the subject of running…I’ve decided after this evening half I’m signed up for in a few weeks, I am not going to sign up for any more races until 2013. I have multiple reasons for this:

  • I want to just enjoy running. When my training runs get up to 11, 12, 13 miles, I dread them. I don’t like dreading my Saturday runs, I want to have fun. During this “off season”(the rest of 2012) I’m going to try to keep my Saturday runs between 6-10 miles, and work on completing each and every weekday run I have planned.
  • I want to save money so I can do this awesome race in January. I did the Zooma Atlanta and had so much fun! I am trying to get some friends together to drive down with me for the weekend =)
  • I want to focus on dieting and losing weight. I don’t want to have any excuses to eat extra carbs or calories. I just need to get my weight loss done so I can focus on becoming a faster, stronger runner, and a healthier me!

All this being said, I think that once my first thirty days of low carb eating are done with, I will blog a little less frequently, maybe a few times a week. I am definitely having fun keeping track of all my accomplishments and setbacks along the way, so I will certainly keep this blog up and running! I also plan on continuing a low carb, low sugar life style for the foreseeable future. If anyone has recipes, please share!! I love to cook and bake and am always willing to try something new!

3 thoughts on “DAY TWENTY-FOUR: cooking low carb

  1. Pingback: DAY THIRTY-ONE: Goal completed! | Low Sugar // Low Carbs // Long Runs

Leave a Reply

