DAY TWENTY-SIX: (not) running in the rain

First of all, I can’t believe I am almost at 30 days low sugar! Time has flown by and it now seems like not too big of a deal (except when I dream about chocolate cake with peanut butter icing, which happened last night, and I’m still having bad, sugar-filled thoughts because of this) on a day-to-day basis. I am still a food lover, still a food addict (definitely not as bad as before, though), but not so much as much of a sugar addict! I really feel like I am making progress. I’m very, very excited about this.

If anyone knows me who is reading this, you know how big of a deal this is. I have been a total sugar junkie since I was basically born. I grew up with two grandparents and an Aunt who worked at the Hershey’s Chocolate Factory, and my father and uncle who both worked at Hershey Park. I was constantly around food (and sweets) my entire life. I have never not eaten candy for longer then a few days (I only eat dark chocolate occasionally on this new low sugar diet). It’s just such a huge change and a huge blessing that I have been able to make it this far. I am so proud of myself!

Now onto the not so joyous news — my old friend enemy, Mr. Early Evening Thunderstorms decided to come visit last night. I was supposed to run 7 miles, and instead sat on the couch reading my library book. Granted I am thankful for the extra time to read my extremely overdue book, I would have loved to get out there and get some miles in. Now tonight I am stuck with playing tennis and going on a run. I know there is no way I’m going to run all 7 miles, but I can at least do some, and then get out there to run again tomorrow night.

I don’t know how you dedicated runners do it. When the sky turns dark and I hear thunder I immediately think “oh, my run is cancelled I guess” (by canceled I mean, I cancelled it in my head). But I STILL see people out there running in the downpour. I don’t get it! I am such a wuss when it comes to running in the rain. If I am already part way through a run, I will obviously finish, but no amount of bribing will get me out there when it looks like rain. The blisters you get from wet shoes, the heavy clothes you have to run in…not my thing.

I guess that one thing will get me out there when it looks like rain : my long runs. This Saturday marks the longest run of my half marathon training — 13 miles! I’m excited to run basically a half marathon, but will also be happy when it’s over. This will only be my third time running this far!  Even if it is raining or looks like rain (which is what they are calling for), I’ll still be out there running it! 13 miles is not something I can do on my own yet.

One thought on “DAY TWENTY-SIX: (not) running in the rain

Leave a Reply

