Overnight Oats & running without a plan

Last night I jumped on another band wagon and made some overnight oats. I was am still a little weary about this breakfast, but am willing to try a few more recipes before saying ‘forget it’! The oats I made last night were inspired by Skinny Taste, but I ended up using the recipe from Peanut Butter Fingers instead.

Overnight Oats in a Jar

My skepticism started last night when I put in 5oz of Greek yogurt. I have been staying away from yogurt because of the carbs, but I had some left over in the fridge that needs to be used up anyway. I used plain Trader Joe’s Greek yogurt (2%), since the flavored kind has too many carbs. If you’re not on a low carb diet, I’m positive that flavored Greek yogurt would make this wonderful!

I made my overnight oats using:

  • 5 oz plain 2% greek yogurt
  • 2/3 cup oats
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk

This morning I added 1 tbsp honey and a little bit more almond milk, and mixed it around in the jar before dishing out a serving. When I dished out my serving (~ 1/2 cup, about 1/3 of what is in the jar total), I added 1/2 tbsp peanut butter and 1/3 of a fresh banana on top.

Overnight Oats, Peanut Butter, Banana

I personally loved this combo (the hubby liked the overnight oats better without any toppings). It was just sweet enough (with the honey and banana pieces), and it was pretty filling (I am still not really hungry and it has been 4 hours since I ate), so that is always a plus in my book! It was only around 300 calories and 25 g carbs too, which isn’t too bad. I’ll be trying the Skinny Taste Overnight Oats next week for sure!

Now onto my running…last night was the first time in over 8 months I ran when I was not on a training schedule. I just went out to run because I felt like it, with no real distance in mind, and it solidified the idea that running without a training plan is good for me (at this point in time). 8 months ago Heck, 4 months ago, I would have said that I simply would not run without a race to train for, without a plan set in stone, but not now. Now is different. Now is the new run-loving me. I went out there and ran 4 miles for no darn reason except that I love running, and it felt so good. I ran slow and listened to the local Christian radio station (104.7 The Fish), enjoyed the empty college campus  (pre-undergrad arrival) and loved every second of it. Every hill, every bump in the sidewalk, every runner I passed. I loved it all. And I am so glad I chose to take a few months off from training for a race. I’m going to enjoy these next 100 or so runs so much more because of it…

And one more thing for the road. Calvin, the pooch, wanted me be like me and wear my 13.1 snap on, glow in the dark bracelet last night 🙂

Calvin, who was obviously not very happy to be wearing a snap on bracelet (back right leg)!

In fact, a few seconds after this photo was taken he managed to bite off the bracelet and attempted to swallow it…this blog would be too ridiculous if I tried to tell all my Calvin tales, so we’ll leave it at that!

One thought on “Overnight Oats & running without a plan

Leave a Reply

