Overnight Oats Round 2 & Chocolate Coconut Mousse

Last night I prepared my Overnight Oats a different way, as follows:

Overnights Oats with Banana and Peanut Butter

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 packet Splenda (or other sweetener)
  • cinnamon

320 calories // 35 g carbs // 10 g fiber // 21g protein

…and let it sit overnight. I am so weary of chia seeds, but this recipe makes them so soft & wonderfully delicious =)

This morning I added about 1/2 cup more unsweetened almond milk (I didn’t measure, just poured & stirred until the consistency I wanted), 1 tbsp peanut butter, and 1/2 sliced banana, and I was very surprised at how great it tastes! The cinnamon and Splenda really helped improve this recipe from the last time I made them. I will be eating this more often for sure! I know this is made with some oats, and that’s not something I normally eat, but there is so much nutrition in here I can’t deny it’s probably even better then my normal breakfast smoothie or bacon & eggs!

Also, this recipe made a lot and I had a hard time eating it all. I think I will 1/2 the recipe next time and eat it with a few pieces of bacon or something else to keep me full.

Last night I made our favorite salad for dinner, and some Dark Chocolate Coconut Mousse from Mark’s Daily Apply (best Paleo recipes ever) for dessert! This mousse recipe was to die for. Seriously. Everyone that has a sweet tooth or that is craving chocolate should make it. And eat it. Now.

Image

Chocolate Coconut Mousse

For once, I didn’t calculate the calories/carbs in this dish. It was a treat and I just didn’t feel like looking at it. I couldn’t finish all of mine, we’ll just say that!

I made it with a can of Trader Joe’s new product Coconut Cream (awesome, awesome, awesome!! — the guy at the store told me they made Pina Coladas with it when it came in and that they were really good, so I knew I had a winner!) and 4 oz Special Dark Chocolate Chips. I refridgerated the can of Coconut Cream overnight, mixed it in the kitchen aid mixer for about 5 minutes, then let it sit in the fridge for another 20 minutes to get cool again.

I added 1/3 sliced banana, a few Hershey’s Special Dark Chocolate Chips (my fav!), and some Pubix Heavy Whipped Cream to each. A very rich, creamy treat. I will totally make this for guests sometime!

Then I took the puppy on a walk and got some fresh new bug bites in what I have officially deemed “Bug Bite Alley“. Seriously, I get a new bug bite (or two or three or four…) every time I walk him here. I guess it’s what I can expect from an open grassy area surrounded by big bushes and trees in the Southern US.

Image

Calvin in “Bug Bite Alley”

I did a slow recovery run with the pooch this morning, 2 mi. Going to go to church in a little, teach those little monster 3-4 year olds about how bad it must feel to ‘not have enough food or water if we go camping’ (insert Israelite & manna reference here), then run some errands.

Dinner tonight : Taco Salad without the chips!

2 thoughts on “Overnight Oats Round 2 & Chocolate Coconut Mousse

  1. Pingback: Rainy Days — Low Carb Banana Muffins « Low Sugar // Low Carbs // Long Runs

Leave a Reply

