Changes!

I’ve decided to change some things. My running has been going great! My energy levels have been just growing and growing. But I’m not losing weight. I am now starting the third week of the same darn weight, only a few pounds from getting under 200…..so I’m going to try a few changes for the next month.

It must be understood that I’ve been doing fairly well eating low carb,but  my calories have been a little high for the last week and a half. I’ve still been avoiding sugar like the plague (go me!) and have been working out more and more. But still, I’m not losing weight. I am very inactive during the day, working a desk job from home. The most exercise I get is walking the dog. So in order to combat that, I’m going to attempt to do some sort of exercise every single day of the week. Hence, my new work out plan for the month of September:

Monday– 3 miles at lunch on the treadmill // Tennis Lessons from 6:30-7:30pm

Tuesday – Longer run, between 4-6 mi at night

Wednesday – weight lifting with the hubs at 5am, yoga or tennis for 1 hour in the evening

Thursday– Longer run, between 4-6 mi at night

Friday – 3 miles at lunch on the treadmill

Saturday– long run, between 6-10 mi

Sunday– recovery run, 2-4 mi run/walk (with the pooch) // weight lighting with the hubby

I’m on day 4 of this work out plan (started on Friday 8/24); so far so good! Wish me luck!

By the way, in case anyone was wondering…eating low carb and running is so doable.  Don’t let anyone tell you it’s not. I never feel too tired to finish runs or anything, unless I’m sick. I barely even eat gels or GU or shot blocks…I just drink some watered down Gatorade and water while running. I’ve decided the whole extra-carbs-needed-for-running-thing is a myth, at least if you are just running for the heck of it and not trying to get super fast excellent times.  I mostly run between a 10:00-11:30 pace, depending on the total distance I’m running and if I’m with others (I run WAY faster with others, WAY slower when the puppy accompanies me), and I’m still 50 lbs overweight. SO, just wanted everyone to know how I feel on this subject now that I’ve been low carb for almost 2 months…

2 thoughts on “Changes!

  1. you mean success at losing weight? yes! i have lost 12.8 lbs since the beginning of July (and since i started ‘dieting’ – August 2011) i’ve lost 48 lbs! 52 more to go until i reach my goal!). I’ve just had two ‘off weeks’, but i am positive this week the scale will be my friend again, i can just feel it! Day 4 of my increased work out schedule complete!

Leave a Reply

