Busy Saturday & Paleo Snickerdoodle Cookies

Today was busy but good. Woke up super early (4am) to volunteer at the Celebrate Freedom 5K/10K. This was my first race as a volunteer and it was so much fun!! It helped that I had the best job, handing out goodie bags at the end! We started out by filling 700+ cups of water for the finishers, and then when they started coming in I got to congratulate everyone. It was so awesome and I got so many heartfelt thanks from so many runners for my volunteerism — and so much sweet swag from the left overs — it just made me smile. I loved the whole experience and can’t wait to volunteer again!

Image

Bright & early everyone is super excited to volunteer!

After the race was over, I went home and took a nap for an hour and then my little family (hubby, puppy, me) headed to the Chattahoochee River to see if the dog can float (he can…sort of!)

Image

Calvin ready for the river, before we left home

Image

Calvin thinking about jumping in…

He really hated the water. I’m not sure if it’s because I pushed him off the dock (mean mommy!) or if it’s because it was cold (it was 90 degrees outside so i thought he’d like a cool dip), or if it’s just because he is a wuss (probably this one) — but he did NOT want to go back in a second time.

I honestly feel bad, but we are just going to wait a few weeks and then try again. I really hope he starts to like it!!

After spending an hour at the lake (he was in the water twice, the rest of the time was spent trying to coax him back in), we gave up and went home. We stopped at Chipotle for salads for dinner (yum!) and then I proceeded to make PALEO SNICKER DOODLE COOKIES (which are amazing!)

Image

Calvin, with his claws dug into the ground refusing to even get near the boat dock again…

Paleo Snickerdoodle Cookies  

from Delighted Momma

Image

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 1 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup melted coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon, more for rolling
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Directions

  1. Mix all ‘dry’ ingredients follow by ‘wet’ ingredients in a stand mixer. Chill for 1 hour in the refrigerator.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheet with parchment paper.
  3. Roll dough into 15 balls and cover in cinnamon. I sprinkled some cinnamon on while they were in a bowl, and then rolled a few in the left over cinnamon.

    Image

    Snickerdoodle cookie in Cinnamon

  4. Place on a cookie sheet and flatten out with the bottom of a mason jar.

    Image

    Smashing the cookies with the bottom of a jar makes them nice & round, but I found my cookies stuck to the bottom a little. I’d butter it or something first!

  5. Bake 8-9 minutes at 350 degrees (I baked mine for 9.5 minutes and they are a little dark on the bottom)

…and ta-da! Paleo cookies for only 5.5 carbs and 114 calories (the calories are high from the almond meal & coconut oil)

Image

Enjoy with drink of your choice (vanilla chai tea sounded great, so there ya go!)

I skipped running today because my legs are just so sore from standing all morning, shows what a sedentary desk job (even one from home) will do to you. =/

I’m going to make up the 6 miles tomorrow morning bright & early though! And follow them up with my new favorite treat:

Image

Southern Peaches!

The peaches I bought last week were just so perfect I had to buy some more! I can’t wait for my post-run snack!

8 thoughts on “Busy Saturday & Paleo Snickerdoodle Cookies

  1. Pingback: A Lazy Labor Day & (surprise, surprise!) a new Paleo Cookie Attempt! « Low Sugar // Low Carbs // Long Runs

    • Thank you! He is quite a cutie.

      And you NEED to try these cookies, I agree. I am sitting at my work computer at home today and I keep talking myself out of going to eat another one =) They are SO good!!

  2. My puppy was scared of water the first time too. My husband walked into the water with him and did hold him for a couple minutes so he would feel more comfortable about being in the water. We did it 2 times and last week we went to the beach and he walked into water by himself. I guess it takes time. Keep trying. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Paleo Recipe: Vanilla Coconut Cookies « Oh Snap! Let's Eat!

  4. Pingback: Low Carb Run #I-Lost-Count & licking cookie dough off the beaters « Low Sugar // Low Carbs // Long Runs

  5. Pingback: Paleo Recipe: Vanilla Coconut Cookies | Oh Snap! Let's Eat!

Leave a Reply

