A Lazy Labor Day & (surprise, surprise!) a new Paleo Cookie Attempt!

Today has been a super lazy Labor Day. I ran with the puppy to Starbucks this morning (~4 mi) and have since that time not left the house. Wait, not true, I left the house in an attempt to buy zucchini for my zucchini bread, but was forced to come home because of a flat tire! I guess I’m not meant to leave the house, except on foot, today.

As I wait for AAA to arrive & put on my full-size spare time (thank goodness for that suggestion last year from the last tire place), I decided to retaliate (against the world) and bake some Paleo Chocolate Chip Cookies.  I’m so happy I only made half a batch, because as soon as I tasted the batter, I knew we were in trouble.

Image

Paleo Chocolate Chip Batter = TROUBLE!

Paleo Chocolate Chip Cookies

makes 13, 107 calories, 9 g carbs each

Image

Paleo Chocolate Chip Cookes (aka deliciousness)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup almond flour/meal
  • 1 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup butter (or coconut oil), melted
  • 1/4 cup honey (the recipe tells you to use maple syrup but i didn’t have any)
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Mix all dry ingredients. Add in wet ingredients one at a time.
  3. Mix until combined. Add in chocolate chips.
  4. Spoon out batter onto cookie sheet (I made mine medium-sized). The recipe says to flatten them out, I did with half of them and did not with the other half to see how they turned out.

    Image

    Before Baking, a few “smashed down” and a few left alone

  5. Bake at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes. I cooked them for 8 because we like under-done cookies (and they are chewy and perfect!)
  6. Let them sit for 10 minutes & enjoy!
Image

Paleo Chocolate Chip Cookies after baking – obviously I didn’t need to smash down any because they all look fantastic!

These cookies are just to die for!! The hubby said “how are these even paleo?!“. Ahhhh, brings a smile to my face. I love to bake, so of course I just love when recipes turn out well (especially after my last paleo cookie attempt, which we will not discuss here).

Now that my tire is fixed, I’m going to go buy my zucchini in preparation for my Double Chocolate Zucchini Bread I will make tomorrow night. I may or may not go with this recipe, simply because it uses all whole wheat flour and I’d love to use some of my coconut flour in there. I’m going to do some internet searches & see what I come up with!

Since I’m blogging about all these delicious Paleo treats lately, I should mention that I am not indulging in them too heavily — mostly this is just for fun & they are going into the freezer for another time. I am happy to say I am back down to my weight pre-parent visit weekend & am heading in the right direction on the scale now! Only 1.2 lbs til I reach the big (little for me!) 2-0-0!!

Image

A 4 mile run means a lot more to his body then to mine apparently, he’s been sleeping all day long!

5 thoughts on “A Lazy Labor Day & (surprise, surprise!) a new Paleo Cookie Attempt!

  1. Pingback: Paleo Recipe: Vanilla Coconut Cookies « Oh Snap! Let's Eat!

  2. Pingback: Product Review & A Bad Day (and moving on from that bad day!) « Low Sugar // Low Carbs // Long Runs

  3. Pingback: Low Carb Run #I-Lost-Count & licking cookie dough off the beaters « Low Sugar // Low Carbs // Long Runs

  4. Pingback: Paleo Recipe: Vanilla Coconut Cookies | Oh Snap! Let's Eat!

Leave a Reply

