Product Review & A Bad Day (and moving on from that bad day!)

I would really like to get the “bad day” out of my mind & out of the way and continue this blog happily..so here goes:

Yesterday was not a good day at all. I am anxious about starting Yoga this week. Work was super, super, super busy and the day ended with me hating my job & the world.

It may or may not be that special time of the month that my husband refers to as “the evil within”.  =/ This makes me SUPER crazy and SUPER emotional and…yeah, most of us know what I’m talking about…’nuff said!

I got off work fully planning on running, but the sky was turning dark & there were thunderstorm warnings. So I waited. Made dinner. Waited. Ate dinner. Waited some more. The sky was still dark. Made some Pumpkin Paleo Muffins with Cream Cheese (recipe to follow post). And then it was dark out. And that was it. I gave up. I got really, really upset at first. I was so frustrated that I didn’t exercise AND that I ate at least 200 calories over my goal for the day. I was feeling super defeated.

But then my lovely, wonderful husband reminded me that it’s just one day. One day out of many, many days that I messed up a little. It’s not the end of the world. It’s not going to totally derail my weight loss, or make me gain weight like I was sure it would. I just need to relax. I’m going to have off days (the rest of my life). I’m not always going to be able to eat perfectly clean and on par with my goals. And I’ve got to accept that. And I think I am one step closer to accepting it as of today. Thank you hubby!

Today is different. No, I did not wake up at 5am for my lifting session with the hubby (after the awful night I had last night, which I won’t even get into, because it’s over, I decided not to even bother). I’m probably going to push my first yoga class off until tomorrow as well. But I will get a run in. Whether it’s in the gym or outside (threatening storms all day again), I will get it done.

Rant over! Moving on!

I have tried a bunch of new products from Whole Foods & Trader Joe’s recently and I really want to review some of them. I have too many to put in one post, so I’m going to aim for two a day! If anyone reading this knows me, you know I have had a sweet tooth since, like, the day I was born? So today is a chocolate review day!

They say that on a primal/Paleo diet (which are sort of following, with the exception of cheese and greek yogurt and a few other things), Dark Chocolate is the only kind you should eat, and the hubby and I have been sticking to that in the form of Dark Chocolate Covered Almonds, Dark Chocolate Chips, and Dark Chocolate Bars (moderation is the only way we have still lost weight on this diet, trust me, dark chocolate tastes awesome when it’s all you’re eating in the form of candy)!!

Coffee Crunch in Dark Chocolate (Whole Foods)

This little gem is obviously already opened (and half finished)! I got it because my husband loves coffee (and I mean LOVESSSSSS). I was browsing the dark chocolate bars at Whole Foods and couldn’t resist. At first he wasn’t sure if he really liked it, but I think when you’re on a low sugar diet almost any chocolate is good! The thing he wasn’t sure of was the actual coffee bean pieces in it. But I thought it was really great!

Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate with toffee, pecans, and walnuts

I’m still not sure about this one. You can tell just how not sure I am because I’ve had it since the middle of July & there is over half left. I don’t really think that it tastes like toffee..or walnuts..or pecans. It’s just kind of bland. It’s not necessary not edible, it’s just not good. I don’t really recommend buying this bar, as least compared with other Trader Joe’s candies I have had in the past!

Apparently this is the week of baking. Because I had extra cream cheese from the twice baked cauliflower I made for dinner last night, I decided to make some Paleo Pumpkin Muffins. I also have zucchini bread lined up this week, and these Apple Cider Paleo Donuts are for sure on my to-bake list!

I need to be stopped.

Paleo Pumpkin Muffins with Cream Cheese Filling

from CindyStable

Paleo Pumpkin Muffins…

…with cream cheese filling!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 3/4 cup canned pumpkin
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 tsp almond butter
  • 4 oz cream cheese
  • 1 packet Stevia in the Raw
  • coconut oil, for greasing pan

Directions

  1. Mix dry ingredients. Mix in wet ingredients one at a time, not including cream cheese and Stevia.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease muffin tin.
  3. Mix cream cheese and Stevia with handheld mixer. Add muffin mix to pan, add a tbsp or so of cream cheese mix to the center of each muffin.

    Paleo Pumpkin Muffins with Cream Cheese Dropped in the center. My recipe only makes 8 muffins because I only wanted 8. If you want to make 12, multiply all ingredients by a factor of 1.5.

    4. Bake at 350 degrees F for 15 minutes, turning pan once to bake muffins evenly. Because of the cream cheese it’s hard to tell if they are done or not by sticking something in the center. I stuck a knife to the right of the cream cheese to test.

    Hubby’s Response (to the fact they are paleo with no added sugar) “HOW is this EVEN possible?!” …he’s so cute! =)

    I will add the nutrition on here later! I haven’t calculated it yet!

And to make this dessert even more yummy, pair it with a cup of hot (or iced!) Vanilla Chai-Spiced Coffee from Trader Joe’s!! I just got this coffee yesterday (a total impulse buy). I was actually looking for vanilla chai tea & saw this & could not resist!

This coffee is literally a perfect mix of Chai Spices and Coffee.

To make a super yummy iced coffee add 1-2 tbsp half and half, 1 splenda, 2 pumps Starbucks Vanilla Syrup & ice!

Have a great Wednesday!

3 thoughts on “Product Review & A Bad Day (and moving on from that bad day!)

Leave a Reply

