Sugary-Baked Goods: Just say NO!

Today I apparently felt like testing my devotion to my low sugar diet. I made some muffins for Adam to take into school for their ‘coffee hour’ before classes. I made:

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

Coffee Cake Muffins

If you click on the photo it will take you to the very non-paleo recipes, full of sugar and flour and deliciousness!

I even made those cute little tags to go with them! They are attached to a toothpick and stuck in a muffin. So cute!

Let me first say, ‘regular’ baking compared to ‘Paleo’ baking is SO MUCH MORE FUN. I’m not sure why, except  for the fact there are more ingredients and more measuring, mixing, etc, in regular baking vs Paleo. But I LOVE IT. Do I love the stomach ache I have from licking batter off my fingers? NO. Do I love smelling delicious muffins I can only have one bite of because I refuse to cheat on my diet? NO. But I love sharing good tasting baked goods with others, so I will continue to bake regular even though I will not indulge =)

I’m kind of glad I did this, though. It makes me feel more confident that when I go on trips, like this fall when I have to travel for two weddings and a week long vacation at the Outer  Banks, I will be able to eat a bite, or even half, of a muffin or some other sweet and be satisfied. I think this whole healthy-eating-as-a-way-of-life-thing is finally sinking in!

One thought on “Sugary-Baked Goods: Just say NO!

Leave a Reply

