For the love of Pumpkin

One of my favorite things about fall is one of my favorite flavors – pumpkin! I love the taste, smell, love pumpkin pie spice…love it all.

Last night the hubby saw one of his friends put up a FB post about adding ground cinnamon to your coffee grounds before brewing, so of course we had to try adding 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice. It added this great pumpkin aroma and flavor. Since the hubby has been craving pumpkin coffee for a few weeks, and it’s not out yet at Trader Joe’s, we improvised and he was a very happy man this morning.

Next on the agenda…pumpkin spice overnight oats! Last night I decided I wanted to try Pumpkin Overnight Oats, but did not feel like making pumpkin butter, and didn’t need/want the added sugar and calories, so I just used pumpkin puree and changed the recipe a little bit.

Once it was time to eat these, I realized WHY they use pumpkin butter and not just pumpkin purree. It was not sweet enough at all! I added 1 tsbp almond butter and about 1 tsp honey to make it the sweetness I like.  These overnight oats definitely possess the pumpkin taste, but are missing something in terms of flavor. More spices maybe?

Pumpkin Spice Overnight Oats

A container of pumpkin pie spice. Español: Un ...

The best spice..ever!(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

  • 3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup quick cook oats
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin purree
  • 1 packet splenda (or other sweetener)
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tbsp almond butter (optional add in)

    Almond butter

    Almond butter (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

  • 1 tsp honey (optional add in)

335 calories // 47 g carbs // 16 g fat // 13 g protein (w/out almond butter or honey)

Weight loss update: I am finally under 200! It feels so nice to be in the 190’s again. I haven’t seen this in…well, I can’t honestly remember. Probably about 10 years ago. And it feels good. What’s going to feel even better is to get to my goal weight! I am re-motivated and the baking binge is over (for now)! 49 lbs to go!

Leave a Reply

