Fall Baking: Day 1

It’s bright, hot (high of 86) & sunny here in Atlanta, but it’s also officially fall, so I’m in the kitchen doing what I do best this time of the year — bake!

Apple Cider Paleo Donuts

from PaleoSpirit

Apple Cider Paleo Donuts

Yum, yum, yum , yum!! I’ve been eyeing this recipe for a few weeks, and one of my friends from my hometown was nice enough to send me her Baby Cakes Donut Maker so I wouldn’t have to buy my own!! It arrived yesterday and I just knew today would be the day I finally made this recipe.

Ingredients

1/2 cup coconut flour

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp salt

2 eggs

2 tbsp honey

2 tbsp coconut oil, melted

1/2 cup warm apple cider

2 tbsp butter (for dipping)

1/4 cup coconut palm sugar (for dipping)*

1 tsp cinnamon (for dipping)**

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice (optional)**

*I used 1/2 cup coconut palm sugar and had way too much left over, so I suggest starting out with this amount of dipping sugar and making more if you need it! Coconut palm sugar is expensive!

**I LOVE pumpkin pie spice, which if you frequently visit my blog you are learning pretty quickly. You in no way have to use this spice, the original recipe calls for just cinnamon, which would be great too!

Directions

  1. Heat mini donut maker according to directions (or own personal experience). Since this wasn’t my donut maker, I used serious caution and read that owners manual front to back! Lots of useless information in there, let me tell you!
  2. Mix dry ingredients together. In a separate bowl, whisk eggs, honey, and coconut oil together.
  3. Combine the two, and add in warm apple cider until combined.
  4. Cook in the donut maker 2.5-3 minutes. Move to cooling rack.

    Baby Cakes Donut Maker

  5. Melt butter and mix sugar and spices together.
  6. Dip in butter on both sides, then dip or sprinkle with spices. Let them cool (if you want, they are good warm to…)

Nutrition

Batter makes 12 mini donuts. Nutrition includes cinnamon sugar topping as well.

Calories : 85 // Fat : 5g // Carbs : 7 g // Fiber:  1.5 g

Today I let laziness overtake my run. Don’t get me wrong, I ran a great pace (for me) at 10:05 avg per mile, but I ran 6 miles and then I said “I just don’t feel like going any further”. The truth is, I definitely could have…but I was bored. I forgot my headphones and didn’t have anyone to run at at the group…so I just quit. Not my usual style, but I guess I’ll get ’em next week!

Running low carbs is getting so easy. As the mornings cool down, it’s almost like I don’t even feel the need to hydrate with carb-filled drinks. I only drank 1/2 my 20 oz bottle of watered-down gatorade today. [[Don’t get me wrong, I totally re-hydrate with lots and lots of water, but during the actual run I allow myself some gatorade for the mental aspect of it]]. I rarely eat my energy ‘gel bites’ (I don’t know what the proper name is at the moment, I can’t think of it), and I still feel great. Better then great, I feel fantastic. My pace shows it too. I really like the direction that my running abilities are headed!

And one more fall-themed topic: candles. I only burn candles during the winter months. I love pumpkin, apple, fall flavors. My current favorite is:

Bath & Body Works – Leaves

I love it so much! I’m a huge supporter of sharing things you love, because those companies deserve for their product to be spread around. So here you go! Bath & Body works in no way endorsed me to share my love of this candle =)

Leave a Reply

