Update on Weight Loss, Diet, and a recipe

Thought I’d do a weight loss/diet status/food post since it’s been a while.

I am losing weight, which is great! I am down to 194 lbs and am now in a size 12 pants, which feels just awesome! It has been so long (like junior year of high school) since I’ve worn anything smaller then 14. I just am feeling so blessed that I am continuing to lose weight and inch toward my goal every week, even when I travel (like last week in Boston, at tons of wonderful restaurants and with dessert staring me in the face multiple times a day).

My diet is sort of a low calorie/low sugar/lower carb/high fruit/high vegetable diet at the moment. My carbs seem to naturally fall between 125-175 each day, which I am ok with. I try to stay away from wheat products, especially processed foods that contain wheat (and really most process food in general). I’ve added back in whole grain bagels, whole grain english muffins, multi-grain cheerios, and oatmeal on some days (but I try to limit myself to one carb-rich food a day. I am also still doing “Chocolate Monday’s and Fridays”, so no chocolate any other day of the week!

The Chocolate Monday and Chocolate Friday have been helping me so much. If you have a problem with sweets/chocolate or a food addiction like me, I seriously recommend it.  It’s been so much easier to think “I don’t need chocolate on Tuesday because in 3 more days I get to have chocolate if I want it”. Maybe I’m just a little nuts, but it’s been a wonderful addition to my diet.

Other then Chocolate Monday and Chocolate Friday I try to stay away from sweets/added sugar in general. No more Swedish Fish, gummy worms, chewy sweet tarts, Reese’s peanut butter cups, sugar in my coffee, no white sugar at all, no cookies, cupcakes, etc. Only dark chocolate. And Starbucks. Refuse to live without my Starbucks. AND coffeemate, which I now consider an added sugar, which just shows how my brain in changing to fit my new life style. I love it. I love eating lower sugar. I feel great and wouldn’t change it for the world!

And now for my morning recipe, it is Chocolate Monday after all…

Flour-less Banana Oatmeal Muffins

adapted from Chase&Eden

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups oats
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 egg
  • 3 packets Stevia in the Raw
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1 container 100 calorie Yoplait Vanilla Greek Yogurt (about 1/2 cup)
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Coat muffin tin with cooking spray or use cupcake liners.
  2. Blend oats in a food processor for a few seconds.
  3. Add in all ingredients and blend for a few more seconds.
  4. Fill cupcake tins with batter (makes about 7 muffins) and top with whatever you feel is in the cards…mine had chocolate chips on top, and may or may not have had hidden surprise (dark chocolate mini butter cup inside?)
  5. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  6. Do not be like me and forget to set the timer. =)

These muffins had a great consistency and flavor. Mine were overdone, so a tad bit chewy, but otherwise great! I love oats.

Banana Oatmeal Muffins

Nutrition: 100 calories // 1.2 g fat // 18 g carbs // 7.5 g sugar // 3.5 g protein

So life is going well. I’m finally back on track with running, and will hopefully avoid illness for the rest of the winter and continue to stick to my runs even while away! Next up, a trip to central Pennsylvania for a wedding this weekend! Excited to see friends and family, sad to leave the hubs and pup for the weekend. And my week long vacation to the Outer Banks in less than 3 weeks, couldn’t be more excited for that!

Have a nice day and stay safe if you’re in the path of the Hurricane!!

2 thoughts on “Update on Weight Loss, Diet, and a recipe

  1. Congrats on the weight loss! And that’s a great idea about Chocolate Monday and Friday. It’s so hard especially right now with Halloween and there’s candy everywhere. Also, those muffins look so good! And I think I have most of those ingredients at home now anyway. May have to try to make them tonight!

Leave a Reply

