A photo-heavy post on life (and the mention of running, of course)

Whew. What a whirlwind of a fall. I can’t believe it’s already November. And Thanksgiving is in 2 weeks. Life. Is. Going. By. Too. Fast.

First a foremost, I made the most delicious side salad for dinner tonight, Broccoli-Bacon Salad* (recipe at the end of this post). Adam and I have been making (I say Adam and I, but really I’ve been making and Adam has been eating) recipes from the AHA website and they are turning out to be pretty darn good (and good for you!)

Image

Broccoli-Bacon Salad

Last week we made our first fire of the year which turned out to be a big hit with the now-year-old-puppy, who loves warmth and comfort:

Image

How close can I go without worrying my mom?

And the next day it was also a little chilly, so we (the hubby) made another fire, and the puppy enjoyed it thoroughly for a second time:

Image

Fireside Naps!

Thank goodness for my husband! He makes the best fires and knows how to keep me and the puppy warm at night.

I’ve been slacking on the running lately (see my failed October Goals post), so the hubby talked me into signing up for another half (he knows how bad I feel when I don’t run and how good I feel when training for something). So I am officially signed up for the Tybee Island Half Marathon in February 2013! It’ll be really great to have some place new to travel to for a race the weekend after the hubby finished his Step 1 test for Med School. I’m so excited!

Over the weekend I had the pleasure of seeing an old friend get married in Pennsylvania, which was a little cold for my liking but overall beautiful and very fun!

Image

The new bride and groom!

Image

My best friend from middle school/high school and I. It was so great catching up with old friends (and take blurry photos)

I got tricked by my parent-in-law’s dog, Maddy. She somehow finagled her way into my heart and had me run around the back yard with her AND feed her an extra meal on Sunday morning.

Image

Maddy the (overweight) lab =)

…and to top things off, I got to meet my new nephew, Bradley!

Image

I want one, I want one, I want one!!

Sigh. I’m in love with babies. I’m in love with that baby. I’m in love with all babies.

Okay, enough baby talk. Let’s talk about something happening now and not in a few years =)

I can’t wait to run my next half. I managed 9.5 miles last weekend while in Pennsylvania (running in 39 degrees with wind..what was I thinking?! how did I ever live and run in Boston?!) and felt good — between 9:30-10:00 min/miles for both my 6 and 3.5 mi runs. I can’t complain, even with my slacking in the running department I’m still holding strong onto my new pace. It’s been great!

I can’t wait to run my first full marathon next year. I know it will be challenging and I need to finish losing my weight first — but I just love running. And I love feeling tired from a run. And I love losing weight. And I love the running weather in Georgia. And basically I’m so happy, I just love life right now, sorry if it’s a tad bit sickening =)

And just to leave you with something cool/something to drool over —

World’s 15 Toughest (Coolest!) Maratahons

Broccoli-Bacon Salad

from the American Heart Association

Ingredients

  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup low-fat mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup reduced-fat sour cream
  • 2 teaspoons cider vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 4 cups finely chopped broccoli crowns
  • 1 8-ounce can sliced water chestnuts, rinsed and chopped
  • 3 slices cooked bacon, crumbled
  • 3 tablespoons dried cranberries
  • Freshly ground pepper to taste
 Directions
  1. Whisk garlic, mayonnaise, sour cream, vinegar and sugar in a large bowl.
  2. Add broccoli, water chestnuts, bacon, cranberries and pepper; stir to coat with the dressing.
  3. Make up to 1 day ahead of time. Store in the fridge, covered.

…and the best part about the AHA website? ALL NUTRITION INCLUDED!!

Calories 89 // Total Fat 4 g // Saturated Fat 1 g // Monounsaturated Fat 1 g // Cholesterol 8 mg // Sodium 200 mg // Carbohydrates 12 g // Fiber 3 g // Protein
3 g // Potassium 193 mg

Dietary Exchanges
2 vegetable, 1 fat

Yum! I will be bringing this to the next BBQ we are invited to!

Leave a Reply

