A real post & a start over

Image

It’s definitely been a while since I’ve written a real post. Life has either been too busy or not quite interesting enough. Vacation was a success overall, I think. It’s hard with family that you don’t normally see. Since moving to Atlanta, I’ve see my parents for a few days every couple months, and my sister I see even less of. So spending a week straight living under the same roof is…interesting.

Image

Our two dogs feigning friendship for the sake of a leash-free beach run. What really happened all week was that little Scottish Terrier biting my playful (and dominating) pup in the face! Yikes!

On the exercise side I did great on vacation. I walked at least 4 miles every day on the beach (thanks to the pooch, who seemed happiest playing in the sand)

Image

Playful Calvin loved the sand, especially at 7am when there was no one else on the beach (all the sane people in our house – and probably most of the Outer Banks – were still sleeping)

Image

and I ran 3 days – 3 miles, 4 miles, and 5 miles (running at high tide with 15+ mph hour winds was not the best idea…but I got a great workout from it!).

On the eating side…I did not so great. I wasn’t awful. For 4 days I controlled myself very well. And then we bought ice cream. And my will crumpled.

Image

Photo Credit: Breyers.com

In the end, it wasn’t as bad as it could have been. Right now I’m sitting on a 5 lb weight gain (198.0 yesterday) that I think will dissipate now that I am going back to my regular diet. This last week after vacation has been awful as well. It’s consisted of far too little exercise and far too many Christmas Cookies, and even pizza the night we got back from the beach! Ah!!

Yesterday for breakfast I made some Pumpkin Protein Pancakes, which complimented my 2 mile run at the gym in the morning nicely (I woke up late and had to give up my other 2 miles in favor of time for a shower). THEN I found my way to 2 hot cocoa cookies from the night before (Darn you, pinterest!) and it went downhill from there.

Image

Hot Cocoa Cookies

My will to lose the rest of my weight is reset. I threw away the remaining hot cocoa cookies. I’m going to run at lunch today. Tomorrow morning I’m going to freeze at Christian Runner’s at 7:30AM. And I will continue. Next half marathon is 9 weeks away! My goal is to reach my healthy weight by April! I can do this!

…speaking of freezing while running, how do you all do it? What does your winter workout plan look like? I didn’t start seriously running until end of January last year, so I didn’t have to deal with this sun-comes-out-30-minutes-before-you-start-work, dark-when-you-get-out-of-work stuff.

Do you run in the dark? Do you freeze on the morning runs? Do you go to the gym? Do you run your 5+ weekday runs on the treadmill? I need some advice!

Protein Pumpkin Pancakes

adapted from PB Fingers

makes 4 medium pancakes

Image

Pumpkin Protein Pancakes

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cups oats
  • 1/4 cup 0% greek yogurt
  • 2/3 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder

(you can forgo the protein powder for 100 less calories and 18g less protein, I just have protein powder that needs used up!)

Directions

1. Place all ingredients in a food processor. Heat a pan to medium heat and coat with cooking spray. Cook until done (about 3 minutes on each side)!

Nutrition

500 calories // 10.0 g fat // 48.5 g protein // 68 g carbs // 7 g fiber

Leave a Reply

