10% Running 85% Crating 5% Pooch

This post is going to be about 10% running and 85% crafting (for less). And maybe one dog picture. Just one. Only 5% dog. I swear.

Today 9 miles were on the schedule. And I completed 11!! This is only the second or third time I’ve ran more than planned, but it felt like the first time! I was so giddy with excitement.

It really helped having a running partner. There was a new person running at Christian Runners and she usually runs at a 9:45 pace, which is pretty close to my average pace lately, so we just sort of fell in step together. She only wanted to do 8 miles, but since I wanted to do 9 she was going to run an extra mile with me. Then we realized we were only a mile from the water stop and decided to push through to refill our water bottles — only we ended up being 2 miles away! I was definitely tired by the end and my feet are begging for my new shoes to hurry up and get here, but it was a great run and really great weather today!

Image

Brooks Women’s Dyad 7 … shipped yesterday! woo hoo!

I’m so happy that my husband encouraged me to go to the running group this morning. I didn’t sleep last night (maybe the 6pm latte with an extra shot I had last night??) and was very tired/grumpy about getting up to run at 6am. But I went. And I wouldn’t have without his gentle pushing. Gotta acknowledge the help my man gives me =)

Now onto crafting.

This is the year of the poor. The hubby is in school full time and I’m working per diem (usually 40 hours a week), but with no paid vacation, sick time, or benefits. SO…there could not have been a better time for pinterest to come into my life!

Image

Five Star Christmas Tree

We ordered our Christmas Tree using a Living Social deal, it so we got it delivered to our house (no hassle of tying it to the top of the car!) in the middle of this week.

…it was delivered 2 days late and in the middle of the night (apparently elves work at Five Star Christmas Tree’s??), but it’s pretty darn good looking for only $50 delivered!

When we decided to move to Georgia we also decided to leave all our Christmas stuff behind. Literally only one statue came with us, and just because it was a gift. Last year we didn’t need to worry about this stuff because we would be traveling to our home town for Christmas, so we didn’t even get a tree. But this year we’ll be in Georgia without family, so I obviously needed to spread some Christmas cheer in our home!

Over the last year and a half we’ve been gifted two ornaments and I’ve bought two as souvenirs. I bought 6 jingle bells on sale at Rite Aid for $1.50 and I strung them up. That’s only 10 ornaments. So of course I have to make some….

Glitter Ball Ornament

from TheGreenBean’sCrafterole

I LOVE GLITTER. It’s a fact. But I also HATE how it gets all over my clothing and hands and in my hair. So I nearly squealed when I saw you could make a glitter ornament ball with the glitter on the inside only using 3 items…

Take these items…

Image

…and get this!

Image

The glitter is preserved on the inside. No rubbing off on clothes. No shaking off during storage. And it was so, so, so simple! The balls were on sale at Michael’s and I already had the glitter (I used to be a craft-a-holic, for sure). I will be making many more of these.

Directions

  1. Remove top of ornament.
  2. Poor in about 1-2 tbsp pledge floor cleaner.
  3. Roll ball around and turn upside down to spread pledge all over ball.
  4. Remove bubbles by pressing a q-tip to the edge with the bubble in it.
  5. Poor in glitter. Roll around edges. Shake gently to cover inside of ball.
  6. Put the cap back on! Wonderful!

I am currently in the process of making an ornament with a dog print on it that will say “Calvin” on the other side that will hopefully turn out similar to this:

Image

from etsy

as well as an ornament representing the year we got married.

Image

This year I knitted our own stockings and am hole-punching all the Christmas cards we receive and putting them on a metal ring and hanging them with a nail on the right side of the mantle. I got the idea from pinterest, of course, and you can see it here.

Like I said, we are poor and gifts are hard to come by. So I decided to make a few of them…

My favorite gift is “Miss You” mugs, from the blog Beautiful Mess.

My best friend lives in Colorado, so we see each other very infrequently. When I saw these mugs I knew immediately I had to make them for us. The only difference is that I made both sides (my state and her state) on both sides of each mug. The hubby thought it looked more complete that way!

Image

‘Miss You’ Mugs

You basically draw on the design using sharpie markers (you can use eyeliner to “pencil” on the design first and then trace the sharpie around the edge of it – just wipe off the eyeliner before baking, after the sharpie is dried of course!), and bake for 45 minutes at 350 degrees in the oven. So simple! I still have to run the mugs through the dishwasher to make sure the design doesn’t come off, but they look fantastic.

I’m going to be making multiple other mugs for my Christian Runners Christmas Party and for my sister and her boyfriend. This was such a cheap and easy present, only $3 for the mugs and I already had the sharpies at home!

And last but not least, someone was being a real humbug about sharing the bed with the humans last night…

Image

Have a nice only-two-full-weekends-left-before-Christmas kind of weekend!

***An update to my last post in regards to the DIY Sharpie Mugs**

I have been doing some research on my DIY Sharpie Mug post since it went up. After I put my mugs in the dishwasher they 50% washed off. I was so bummed! Most of the sites I when googling this project mention hand washing in warm water and avoiding the dishwasher.

I redid my mugs and washed them in scolding hot water and SCRUBBED them hard and some of the ink still came off (about 5%). Not that much. Since my mug is a gift I was still not happy. Redid them and cooked them again.  I recommend writing “hand wash only” on the bottom and including a tag (if it’s a gift) that tells them to wash it in warm water.

Did yours wipe off without water? The mugs that I bought were from Target, on sale for $3 this week. They say “Threshold” on the bottom and are porcelain. My sharpie definitely only comes off in hot water with scrubbing.

One last thing — one of the blogs I read suggests using Pebeo Markers instead of Sharpies.

2 thoughts on “10% Running 85% Crating 5% Pooch

  1. I love love love this post! So last night I bought two plates and a mug, drew all over them with sharpees, then baked at 350 for 45 minutes and it didn’t work…it still wipes off?! Any advice??? Thanks!!!

    • Hi Steph,

      So I actually have been doing some research on this post since it went up. After I put my mugs in the dishwasher they 50% washed off. I was so bummed! Most of the sites I see now mention hand washing in warm water and avoiding the dishwasher.

      I redid my mugs and washed them in scolding hot water and SCRUBBED them hard and some of the ink still came off. Not that much though. I recommend writing “hand wash only” on the bottom and including a tag (if it’s a gift) that tells them to wash it in warm water.

      Did yours wipe off without water? The mugs that I bought were from Target, on sale for $3 this week. They say “Threshold” on the bottom and are porcelain. My sharpie definitely only comes off in hot water with scrubbing.

      One last thing — one of the blogs I read suggests using Pebeo Markers instead of Sharpies. Here’s the link on amazon.com:

      <a href="Pebeo Markers ” title=”Pebeo Markers” target=”_blank”>Pebeo Markers

      good luck!

Leave a Reply

