More Crafting and Less Running

***An update to my last post in regards to the DIY Sharpie Mugs**

I have been doing some research on my DIY Sharpie Mug post since it went up. After I put my mugs in the dishwasher they 50% washed off. I was so bummed! Most of the sites I when googling this project mention hand washing in warm water and avoiding the dishwasher.

I redid my mugs and washed them in scolding hot water and SCRUBBED them hard and some of the ink still came off (about 5%). Not that much. Since my mug is a gift I was still not happy. Redid them and cooked them again.  I recommend writing “hand wash only” on the bottom and including a tag (if it’s a gift) that tells them to wash it in warm water.

Did yours wipe off without water? The mugs that I bought were from Target, on sale for $3 this week. They say “Threshold” on the bottom and are porcelain. My sharpie definitely only comes off in hot water with scrubbing.

One last thing — one of the blogs I read suggests using Pebeo Markers instead of Sharpies.

Today has been a baking and craft day. Again.

I can’t seem to get my fill.

My toes still have blisters on them from running and some new shoes I wore on Sunday, so I skipped my work out. It was also raining. And my new sneakers didn’t arrive yet. Excuses, excuses, excuses…tomorrow is a new day!!

Today I made two new cookie recipes, mint chip cookies and peppermint crunch cookies (turned into chocolate stuffed cookies, will explain at the end where recipes always go!)

Giving any lottery tickets for Christmas? Wrap them up like snowmen, of course!

Image

My dad loves lottery tickets, and I cannot deny him his guilty pleasure around the holidays. So I decided to dress them up using a pinterest idea to wrap popcorn bags.  What you need:

  • white cardstock
  • black textured cardstock
  • orange construction paper
  • ribbon, string, or a fancy scrapbooking page (i used the last one)
  • a sharpie
  • red colored pencil or red stamp (circle)
  • some glue

All you do it take the white cardstock and cut it the height of the lottery tickets, and a little more then double the width. Wrap it around the tickets and glue the ends together.

Image

Make it a snug fit! Then you just cut the other pieces to fit the snowman (black top hat, white circle as a button – of if you have buttons available you could use a real button, orange triangle nose, fancy paper scarf, and black marker for the eyes, mouth and buttons) and tadaa!

Image

A perfect way to dress up a simple gift.

I am semi-controlling my diet this close to Christmas. It’s difficult. But I am NOT in any way controlling what I bake. It’s ridiculous. And wondeful. And terrible. And I think my husband might be gaining weight from my cookies. And I’m definitely not losing any. But I seriously love baking.

Peppermint Crunch Cookies

turned into Stuffed Chocolate Cookies

from twopeasandtheirpod

Image

My candy cane cookies on the right) did not turn out very well, so I started stuffing them with random candies at home (left)

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 4 ounces unsweetened chocolate, melted
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 candy canes, crushed up
  • candies to stuff your cookies with

Directions

  1. Combine the flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the oil, chocolate and granulated sugar and blend on medium speed. Add the eggs, one at a time, followed by the vanilla, scraping the sides of the bowl if necessary. Add the dry ingredients and mix on low speed, stopping once to scrape down the sides. Mix until just incorporated, 2 to 3 minutes. The dough will be sticky.
  3. Shape the dough into a disc and warp in plastic wrap. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours or overnight.
  4. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  5. Roll the dough into 1 inch balls and roll in crushed peppermint pieces. If desired, roll into 1 inch balls and push various candies into the cookies. Top with a little dough and press down to seal.

    Image

    random candies i stuffed my cookies with today

  6. Bake for 10 minutes. Let sit on cookie sheet for 2 minutes and then transfer to wire rack to cool.
  7. Try not to eat them.
Image

All cookie-stuffings are NOT created equal. Note the chocolate peanut butter carmel truffle that leaked out…

I’m not going to bother posting the Mint Chip Cookies — they were okay but nothing super special. If you’re interested, here is the recipe link.

I will run tomorrow. And Post about it. And probably complain about the negative effects Chocolate Monday and my high sugar consumption had on my running. But life goes on. If you would have known me prior to this year of health & fitness, you’d be darn proud that I didn’t start baking until late November!

Now if you’ll excuse me — Insurgent by Veronica Roth is awaiting me!

3 thoughts on “More Crafting and Less Running

  1. For the sharpie mug what about baking it in the oven? I know that sounds strange but I was at a craft sale this past weekend and a lady had painted some coasters and put them in the oven to “bake” her paint on. I wonder if that would work?

Leave a Reply

