Greek Yogurt Pancakes & an Unexpected Day Off of Work

Since I currently can’t log onto my work system, I thought I’d work on my blog post instead. Gosh, I’m having these awful flashbacks to when I was unemployed the summer after I graduated college….not doing much of anything all day makes me feel strange…

Life has been going by a million miles an hour. Christmas was a quick, lazy day. My trip to Boston came and went in a blur. Now I’m back home and back to the grind with my running and healthy eating.

Yesterday I ran my first 3 miles in an entire week! I was super sick for the last 3 weeks, and finally got put on an antibiotic. My cough is going away slowly and I am starting to feel better, woo hoo! It’s a good thing too because I’ve got a half marathon to run in 3 weeks!

Calvin had to get his rabies shot on Tuesday, so like usual, he put on his Pit Bull face and we headed to the vet:

Image

Cal gets so nervous and excited when he’s at the vet that his ears go back and his big tongue hangs out the entire time..I think it makes him look like a P.B., so this is what I call his “pit bull face”…

He’s such a mess of a dog. I don’t know how to train him right. He loved the vet techs but was terrified of the vet. His pupils got dilated and his head was down and his tail was between his legs. It was so strange. I don’t know what kind of strange mutt we adopted, but he never ceases to surprise me (in good and bad ways).

Enough Calvin talk..onto me. I am super happy to be back home and eating right! I managed to control my portions while I was in New England, but I ate a bunch of junk that just made me feel so…wrong. I am really starting to enjoy healthy eating, and how it makes me feel physically and emotionally. I don’t know why I stray when I travel, but I hope I can reign that in eventually. Maybe it just takes practice and patience and determination?

I made Greek Yogurt Pancakes (adopted from PBFingers.com), which I smothered in peanut butter (of course), yesterday morning. They were so delicious! I was honestly just looking for a low carb alternative to eggs and bacon or oatmeal, and thought of all the great breakfast recipes I see on PBFingers and decided to give this recipe a try!

I made my pancakes using some almond meal instead of all whole wheat flour. I LOVE almond meal, but the bag says not to replace all the flour, so I left 3 tbsp of whole wheat flour in my recipe, and added 1 tbsp flaxseed meal for fun (i never in a million years thought i would say that i added flax for fun)!!

Greek Yogurt Pancakes

from PBFingers

makes 6 large pancakes (2 servings)

Image

Eating pancakes without peanut butter should be a crime. And sugar free syrup, of course!

Ingredients

  • 4 tbsp almond meal
  • 3 tbsp wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp flax meal
  • 8 oz vanilla greek yogurt
  • 1 tbsp sugar or honey
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Mix the flours, flax, baking soda, sugar and salt together (if using honey, mix it in with the yogurt).
  2. ImageWhisk the eggs and vanilla in a separate bowl.
  3. Mix the greek yogurt into the dry ingredients and stir in egg mixture.**
  4. Bake in a pan or on a griddle-type-pan (is that what they are called? griddles?), but beware, these pancakes spread!! whoops!—>
  5. Bake a few minutes on each side.

**The batter was a little thick so I added a tiny bit of fat free half and half to it and it was perfect.

I was also skeptical that I would stay full, but boy was I wrong! I wasn’t hungry for at least 6 hours afterwards! AND they heated up well for breakfast this morning.

Nutrition (for 3 pancakes, half of the batch – using sugar not honey, peanut butter and syrup extra)

356 calories // 17 g fat // 185 mg cholesterol // 710 mg sodium // 98 mg potassium // 27 g cars // 4.5 g fiber // 14.5 g sugar // 25.5 g protein

Last night I made the hubby and I some chicken and mashed cauliflower, which was amazing! We are trying to eat more simple dinners, since that’s where the majority of carbs (and cheating in general) come in my day if I don’t watch it. I’m ready to be done with my weight loss and onto the part of this journey where I can focus on maintaining my weight.

44 lbs to go as of 12/27! This is the only thing that kept me from being an emotional eater today. I had a bad day and all I wanted to do was get some frozen yogurt. Or pizza. Or chocolate. But I withheld. I don’t want to give in to my emotions. That froyo will not feel as good as I think it will. And you know what? NOT eating it felt just as great!

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

from the Food Network

makes 4 servings

Ingredients

  • 1 medium head cauliflower, cut into small pieces and well done (in a pot of water, cooked about 15 minutes, or until boiling and an additional 6 minutes)
  • 2 tbsp softened cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 tsp pressed garlic (the hubby loved this much garlic but i would have used a little less  for my personal tastes)
  • 1/8 tsp chicken boullion
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp chopped chives (optional)
  • 3 tbsp unsalted butter (optional)

Directions

  1. Drain the cooked cauliflower and pat dry with paper towels.
  2. Mix cream cheese, parmesan, garlic, bouillon, and pepper together in a stand mixer. Add in cauliflower bit by bit until mixed.
  3. Serve with chives (the more the merrier!) and butter (optional, and totally unnecessary)

Nutrition (including butter)

149 calories // 11.5 g fat // 7 g saturated fat // 5 g protein // 8 g carbs // 4 g sugar // 4 g fiber // 31 mg cholesterol // 170 mg sodium

Sorry this post was all over the place. I’m a mess today and I think I may have forgotten how to blog with all my breaks recently =)

2 thoughts on “Greek Yogurt Pancakes & an Unexpected Day Off of Work

  1. Pingback: The sun returns, elliptical woes, and a few new recipes « Low Sugar // Low Carbs // Long Runs

Leave a Reply

