Homemade Oat Granola Bars

Today I’ve got a sick puppy who is mighty sleepy and snuggly, and who also has one heck of a rumbling tummy.

Image

Snuggling up on me at lunch in the human bed.

Considering he eats anything he can find, I’m not surprised he has a belly ache…again!

I’m trying my hardest to lose weight and this monster mutt just eats everything in sight and never gains a pound…ridiculous.

Last night I made the most wonderful homemade granola bars after dinner. I was really hungry for something sweet, salty, peanut buttery and chocolate-chipy (new word alert*), so this recipe won me over immediately.

These granola bars come out a little crunch on the end pieces, but chewy in the middle. The best part is you can pretty much put in whatever you want. I think I’ll add some chia seeds next time and do half peanuts half chopped almonds! yum!

Homemade Granola Bars

adapted from Taste of Home

makes 32-2″ bars (this is a lot for a two person household. Half of them are currently in the freezer for consumption at a later date!)

Image

Ingredients

  • 4 cups quick cook oats
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar, or equivalent half splenda, half brown sugar
  • 1 cup chopped salted peanuts
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seed kernels
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup creamy peanut butter, melted
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper
  2. Mix the oats, peanuts, sunflower kernels, and brown sugar together in a large bowl.
  3. Melt together the butter and peanut butter (about 1 minute), stir in honey and vanilla.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry, stir together, then stir in chocolate chips until combined and every oat is moist.
  5. Spread on baking sheet and bake 15 minutes. Remove from oven. Cool 15 + minutes, then cut into bars and let cool completely in pan.

Nutrition

125 calories // 9 g fat // 4.5 g saturated fat // 10 mg cholesterol // 29 mg sodium // 15 g carbs // 2 g fiber // 5 g sugar // 4 g protein

These bars are fantastic! They are a little high calorie, but I know exactly what’s in them and they are pretty low sugar (if you use the brown sugar-splenda mix like I did). One or two bars definitely satisfy my sweet tooth.

Tomorrow’s schedule has 13 miles on it .. we’ll see if I make it back alive!

I already have my sport beans packed and ready to go….more mental motivation then anything..ridiculous, I know! Have a wonderful night!

Leave a Reply

