Short but sweet (as cherries)

I’ve been on a cherry kick ever since I saw this recipe on the web last week. I had trouble finding tart cherry juice (or I kept forgetting to look when I was at the store? same thing, right?), so I held off on making the smoothie, and instead made some banana, cherry frozen yogurt! It was such a treat and I highly reccomend it.

Banana & Cherry “Froyo”

Ingredients

  • 2 frozen bananas, sliced
  • 1 cup frozen cherries
  • 2 tbsp dark chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Mix it all together in a food processer

and yes…that is it! All the directions entail is shovin’ it all in the food processer (or blender, but this is harder to do and may require some stirring throughout) and hitting ‘on’. Then watch your masterpeice come alive!

Now…here’s the recipe for my Chocolate Cherry Protein Smoothie…enjoy!

Chocolate Cherry Protein Smoothie

Image

Sorry for the blur, I could NOT get a clear shot

I debated whether I should put up a photo of this smoothie. Other than showing off my 3D sea turtle cup, there’s really no point. All my smoothies with spinach in them look the same! A muddy looking brown color =)

Original recipe from Nature’s Bounty*

Ingredients

  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1/4 cup tart cherry juice
  • 3/4 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 cup frozen cherries
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 cup ice cubes

Nutrition

292 calories // 3 g fat // 1 g saturated fat // 84 mg cholesterol // 322 mg sodium // 630 mg potassium // 37 g carbs // 4 g fiber // 26 g sugar // 33 g protein

I LOVE the flavor of cherry and I LOVE chocolate, so this smoothie called to me! It was super delicious, too!

*I’m not sure why the Nature’s Bounty recipe uses 2 scoops protein, it may be that their protein powder is less calories/protein per scoop? I’ve never used it so I’m not sure, but my smoothie was fine w/ 1 scoop.

Have a nice day!

3 thoughts on “Short but sweet (as cherries)

  1. Pingback: Cheribundi ( @cheribundi ) Review and #Giveaway | Dad of Divas

Leave a Reply

