Half Marathon #4 Complete!

Half Marathon #4 Complete!

Image

PR!!!
2:14:02

AND GUESS WHAT?! That’s right, I got my PR! I reached my goal! I’m so excited! (in case you couldn’t tell)

I finished the race in 2:14:02. My publicized goal was 2:20. My private goal was 2:15 (based on my practice runs). My last half was 2:29. My first half was over 3 hours. Needless to say, I’m improving, and I’m very, very happy about it.

Image

The nice scenery along the way didn’t hurt one bit, either

I started the race at a 9:30 pace and kept it up for 4 miles. I was planning on only running 2 miles at that pace, but I was feeling good and I was pacing behind “purple girl” — purple hat, purple shirt, purple shoes — so kept going. They didn’t have official pacers for this race, so I had to find someone who I thought I could keep up w/ and she won the ‘I’m-gonna-be-a-race-creep’ lottery! I totally trailed her for the first 4 miles, but decided not to be a total creep, so didn’t take a picture of her!

She stopped at the 4 mi water to stretch and I decided to keep going, so my pace was much less consistent the rest of the race. After mile 4 I slowed down, randomly going back to 9:30 pace when running past something motivational or a big group of people. Mile 10 is when I started having issues. My left calf was very tight so I stopped to stretch it a few times, and by mile 11 I was having quad pain and barely holding onto an 11:00 pace. After a few walking spouts I decided to really slow down, since I was doing very well on time.

Starting out stronger really seems to help me get a faster overall time, but I’m hurting more at the end of the race. All day Saturday & Sunday my quads were killing me. I’ve been foam rolling and stretching like crazy, and am finally starting to feel OK today.

I managed to make it across the finish line above my goal so I’m still happy w/ my results — but I do wish my timing was a little more consistent. Here are my splits:

Mile 1 – 9:33

Mile 2 – 9:29

Mile 3 – 9:28

Mile 4- 9:19

Mile 5 – 10:05 (you can tell I lost my pacer)

Mile 6 – 9:35

Mile 7 – 10:21 (getting tired!)

Mile 8 – 9:59

Mile 9 – 10:20

Mile 10 – 10:44

Mile 11 – 11:00 (sore calves)

Mile 12 – 11:40 (walked a lot)

Mile 13 – 10:51

According to my watch my finish time was 2:12. My leg hurts like I finished in 2:12, but I’ll accept Tybee’s official time of 2:14 =)

The next few weeks I’m traveling, so I’ll be running shorter distances, but hopefully the same (ore more) number of days. I have a 10K in March, and am going to search for my next half to run in late Spring. I really want to run a marathon, but I’ve got to lose the rest of my weight and become more comfortable w/ the half distance (and get my time under 2:00) before I even think about training for one. Hopefully in the Fall I’ll be ready for a full.

Image

Thanks for a great race, Tybee!

**Tybee Island and Savannah, GA are amazing and beautiful, and I definitely suggest going there if you have never been! I will be visiting again for sure!

Happy Running! 

5 thoughts on “Half Marathon #4 Complete!

  1. Pingback: Day 9 of 14 Days of Straight Runnin’ & my 10-miler recap! | Low Sugar // Low Carbs // Long Runs

Leave a Reply

