Snow, Travel, & My First Fitness Class!

Firstly, I’d like to say that you Northerner’s are absolutely crazy, and a huge inspiration…but mostly just crazy. I can’t believe people run in that weather. I can’t believe at one point I ran in that cold. I have become such a spoiled runner here in Atlanta…

Pennsylvania is cold. Like, really cold. It’s a winter wonderland up there. Like, it snowed flurried (same thing to this Southern girl now) three out of four days we were gone.

I got out to the trail on on Thursday morning with all intentions of running. Then, I imagined taking my feet out of my insanely warm Ugg Boots…and decided to do my 1 hour of walking BEFORE my 1 hour of running.  This was probably my first mistake…

Image

The hubs and I started out walk and the trail and it quickly morphed into an icy, snowy death trap, so we turned the other direction (where the sun was shining) and my run continued to slip from my mind. It was too pretty not to take photos that early in the morning:

Image

Image

…and then there were animal distractions…

Image

hello little geese!

Living in the city for the last 5 years had made me become ridiculously giddy anytime I’m near wildlife. Example 2:

Image

punxsutawney phil imposter!

I decided to give up my facade of running for good when we stumbled on this little gem:

Image

It’s nearly impossible for me to pass up a new coffee shop.

Thus began our 2 hour walking work out.

The following day I had errands to run for our Christmas in February family event before my haircut (scheduled with my old best friend from high school! so cool!), so I skipped the trails. Saturday I found out another friend from high school was going to a group class at Gold’s Gym called RIPPED, so obviously I had to go make a fool out of myself.

From Gold’s Gym’s site:

R.I.P.P.E.D.~AKA  ” THE ONE STOP BODY SHOCK,” CONFUSES THE SKELETAL MUSCLE, FORCING IT TO WORK HARD TO ADAPT BY CONSTANTLY CHANGING THE STRENGTH AND CARDIO DRILLS.
THIS SUPER HIGH ENERGY WORKOUT UTILIZES STEP, KICKBOX AND OTHER FORMS OF CARDIO, BETWEEN EXHAUSTIVE SUPER SETS OF RESISTANCE WORK.
COME PREPARED FOR A KICK BUTT WORKOUT.

I should have known my first group fitness class probably shouldn’t have been called “RIPPED”. My hamstrings still hurt. I did this class on Saturday. My triceps hurt all day yesterday. I probably should have went with something called “Work Sort of Hard” or “New to Fitness” or “All I Do Is Run for Exercise”. Yep, you gym junkies who do group fitness classes all week are freakin’ hard core. Seriously. I don’t know how you do it!

I definitely took a break from running this week/weekend away, but at least I got some fun exercise in. I’ve got a few runs planned in the next week, but we’re going away again, so things may get pushed aside. The hubs and I plan on taking the pooch on multiple-mile hikes every day, so my runs may take a back seat…two weeks of a slim running schedule should be doable, I don’t think I’ll go too crazy =)

We had a nice (but short) visit with the hubby’s family. Trying to eat healthy while traveling is always hard, but I did OK. Too much sugar (uhhh, Giant Grocery Store Donuts anyone? If you’re ever at a Giant Food Stores you must try the donuts..totally worth the sugar shock to your body!), not enough fiber or grains, but OK. I got to show my family some awesome recipes. In fact, I made this awesome recipe (without the peanut butter) and no one could even tell they were flourless! One of my brother-in-laws literally did not believe it, and my sister-in-law was in love with these brownies! I was so happy! I love sharing low sugar low carb recipes with my family and friends =)

And now I’m at home with a super-sleepy post boarding pup at my feet, dreaming away…

Image

Been sleeping since 9am this morning at different spots in the house.

Night ya’ll!

2 thoughts on “Snow, Travel, & My First Fitness Class!

  1. Love your pup! …I think you’re sleeping on the couch though because he clearly has the bed taken. 😛 What an icy run! Kudos to you!

    On another note, I’m looking forward to going back to the gym in another year or so. I’m waiting for our little man to get old enough, so that he take part in the activities there, instead of being babysat in a corral. 😛

    Keep on running happy!

Leave a Reply

