struggles

I’ve just been having a really hard time lately. I’ve been struggling with my diet. I’ve been struggling with consistent exercise. I’ve been struggling with contentment. I’ve just been struggling.

Eating right and exercising is not a tough thing to do. Eating right and exercising daily to the extent of actually losing weight is hard work. I’m OK with that. Well, to be honest, I hate hard work, but I’m working on it. I’ve got this whole maintain-your-weight-thing down to a T. For over 3 months I’ve maintained my 50 lb weight loss. But I’m just not losing anymore. This is 100% my food-obsessed-self’s problem. I’m sneaking in extra snacks. I’m eating dark chocolate and peanut butter and pretty much everything delicious more then I should. I’m not counting calories as close as I should. Holiday’s and Birthdays and Bad moods and Traveling are my excuses.

But it’s got to stop.

I can’t stay on this emotional roller coaster of weight loss forever. I’ve got to get over this current hill of frustration and despair, and coast down to the finish line. I’ve got to lose this last 45 lbs. I can’t continue like this. Life is supposed to be fun and exciting and not constantly worrying about your weight and your health and your image. I just want to finish this ride and spend some time on solid ground. I just want to be able to breathe. I want to be able to enjoy life. I want to be able to enjoy looking in the mirror. I want to be able to enjoy me.

Image

I blame my bad mood on my recent sugar consumption. And carbs. Both are evil. Both will stop. Today is a new day. Today is a better day.

Ready, Set, Go!

3 thoughts on “struggles

  1. Ugh, it is a constant battle, isn’t it? Today is a new day. And thankfully, we are lucky to always have a new day to start fresh. Don’t beat yourself up over it, it happens to everyone! I learned something in my nutrition course that I think can help everyone – Start, Stop, Keep. Every week, think of one healthy thing you can START doing, one thing you can STOP doing and one thing you already do well diet wise that you can KEEP doing. Small little steps like this can lead to big results without feeling deprived, on a diet or that anything is truly off limits.

  2. I totally get this. I’ve been here SO many times it’s ridiculous. The thing I love about your blog is that you know carbs are crap and you know it’s what makes you feel moody, bloated, etc. You know when you eat too many your workouts suffer. Lately I’ve been blogging a ton about eating paleo and I honestly can’t believe the results that I’ve gotten. I’ve been able to drop the stubborn pounds around the middle that I’ve been fighting for years and I’ve burst through some incredible gym plateaus. I’m sure much of it has to do with my recent crossfit training as well, but I’ve been training this way for years and have never had results as I’m getting now. check out my paleo experiment in my forum and maybe, if nothing else, you can find some inspiration so you can get back to “enjoying you.” I know that since finding that for me, my life has been so much better. Good luck and keep writing….I love your stuff!

  3. One thing that helps me is to focus on the things that I’m doing well and try to add more of that into my life. Maybe this is your body’s way of telling you that you need a break or to switch up your routine. You’ll figure it out. I think the mere fact that you’ve lost a lot of weight and have dedicated yourself this far shows your strength. Just hang in there……….Healthy Journey!

Leave a Reply

