Day 5 of 7 Running + a delicious chili recipe!

I feel like I’m learning lots of things about myself during my 7 Days Straight of Runnin’. Lets list a few:

  1. Just because your brain is telling you that you’re tired, it does not mean you need to take a day off. Your body will survive. Stop being a wuss!
  2. Feeling sore? Maybe that recovery run really will help you out.
  3. The busier you are, the less time you have to think about cheating on your diet with frozen yogurt and chocolate bars and other things you must drive in order to purchase. Running more = less time to go in search of junk food run errands

I completed Day 5 of 7 today with a 2 mile quick (for me) treadmill run. I switched between 0.5-2.0 incline, and finished in 21:13. I was at first going to do speed work tonight, but hubs needed the car, so that plan died early on. Then, I was going to take Calvin on a run, but it was forecasted to be high 70’s around 7:30 pm, so I opted to run alone in the gym and walk Cal at night.  It was a good call because that puppy was panting after only a 3/4 mile walk (and a few squirrel chases and hill sprints)!

Total miles in the last 5 days: 17.6

Total mile I would have run on my regular schedule: 17

I’m right on par for mileage! 

My quads were a little sore last night and even more sore this morning. I stretched both times, and felt better by this afternoon and felt great during and after the run.

I even made a delicious new chili recipe for dinner, found below:

LSLCLR Ground Chicken Chili

*sorry for the lack of a picture, wasn’t feelin’ the photo shoot tonight

Ingredients

  • 1 lb lean ground chicken
  • 2 pork sausages, casing removed
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, coarsely chopped
  • 4-6 oz mushrooms, coarsely chopped *I had these in the fridge so I thew ’em in the mix
  • 2 cans dark red kidney beans, drained (all they had at the store was reduced sodium, so that’s what I used)
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes (I used Hunts fire roasted)
  • 1/2 jalapeno pepper, seeds removed, diced
  • 1 can tomato paste
  • 1 8oz can tomato sauce, any flavor
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 1/2 tsp basil
  • 1 1/2 tsp oregano
  • about 1/2 tsp salt (more if you like things salty)

Directions

  1. Cook ground chicken and pork sausage in a large pan until almost done; drain and return to stovetop. Add in garlic, onion, red pepper, and mushrooms. Sauté for an additional 2-3 minutes.
  2. Add kidney beans, diced tomatoes, jalapeno pepper, tomato paste, tomato sauce, and spices to a slow cooker set on high. Mix in beef and veggies after they are done cooking.
  3. Cook on high for 2.5 hours or low 5 hours, or until done. Serve with something delicious like sour cream, cheddar cheese, or cornbread if you aren’t eating low carb (and of course a side salad)!

Nutrition (makes 7- 1.5 cup servings)

*this does NOT included any added salt

Calories  304 // Total Fat  8.5 g // Saturated Fat 2 g // Cholesterol 53 mg // Potassium 1030 mg // Sodium 704 mg // Carbs 35 g // Fiber 11 g // Sugar 9 g // Protein 24 g

I’ve been obsessed with chili for as long as I can remember. The hubby isn’t usually a fan, but we had ground chicken to use up, and I found the pork sausages in the freezer so decided to throw those in, too. They aren’t necessary, but definitely delicious!

Ground chicken is amazing in chili. Like, somehow better then beef. I don’t understand this phenomena.  This chili was great the way I made it, but you could obviously spice it up more or less (I’m not a fan of spicy things, half of a jalepeno pepper was perfect in my opinion). I have never made chili with jalepeno pepper in it, and it made such a great difference along with the basil and oregano (which I normally don’t add either)!  What a great dinner with lots of left overs, even with a friend joining us for dinner!

Also, did anyone know that kidney beans contained so much potassium?! I had no clue! Just over 3000 mg in one can!

2 thoughts on “Day 5 of 7 Running + a delicious chili recipe!

  1. Sounds like you are doing well w/ your 7 day running challenge! Your dog is a handsome guy; what kind is he? He looks a little like our American Bulldog. We also have another dog named Calvin.

    Recipe looks awesome too. I love chili, but have never tried ground chicken in it. And I guess it’s a good thing I like kidney beans.

  2. Pingback: Healthier Chili-Mac | LauraLovingLife

Leave a Reply

