Day 9 of 14 Days of Straight Runnin’ & my 10-miler recap!

This morning’s 2.2ish mile run with the pooch helped me complete Day 9 of 14 Days of Straight Runnin’! I started out very sluggish, but ended up going a decent pace the last mile. I just feel good. I think these 2-3 mile runs with Calvin are basically a rest day for my body, since we go slow, we stop for potty breaks, and we stop for interesting grass sniffings and to watch squirrel dances. So far so good!

Yesterday was the Roswell 10-miler & it was overall a great race! The start was kind of weird. It was about 0.4 miles from packet pick up, and since I was working supposed to be working (got distracted at the CR tent for most of the time) packet pick up with some Christian Runners, I got to the starting line about 3 minutes before the official start time. I really had to pee, so decided it would be more beneficial for me to start a few minutes late rather than stop on the course to go. Well, turns out it didn’t matter since something went wrong with my chip and my official time was the same as the clock readout when I crossed the finish line!

Since I started about 2 minutes late, it’s pretty obvious something went wrong with my chip. I’m not sure if they stopped the “start location” timing mechanism by the time I went across, but my time is wrong on the website. Since the website says 1:41, I’ll assume I was in the 1:39’s and I made my goal of under 1:40!

The race had amazing water stops. There were so many! I think they had about 6 or 7 for a 10 mile race! They handed out water and Gatorade at each stop.  I stopped at every one since I didn’t bring any water with me, and the Mile 7 water stop even gave me some free Cliff Blocks! I had some with me already, so I’ll be saving these for my next long run.

Almost every single intersection had a police car and police man or woman at it. I felt so safe on the entire course. It was such a difference from my Tybee Half, when the runners in front of me almost got hit by a car that ran a stop sign.

The end of the race supplied runners with bottles of water, chocolate milk cartons, bananas, cuties, donuts (this seems to be some weird southern thing…I don’t remember ever getting offered a donut – let alone a whole box – when I lived in New England!), bread, mini protein bars, and some other things I can’t quite remember. You also got a few discounts to local shops, which was awesome! B1G1 free at Caribou Coffee was the only one I ended up using, but some restaurants were giving out free beer and 50% off lunch!

It was a great race!

Have a nice Sunday everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

