Day 21 of 28 Days of Straight Runnin’ Complete!

As most of y’all know, I’ve been running every day since April 6th.

Today I completed Day 21 (that’s right — 3 straight weeks!) and I have MORE than survived … I think I’ve become a better runner because of it!

Most days are only 2-3 miles, but occasionally I’ll throw in a 4, 5, or more. Saturdays are my long run days, so those are at least 5. I have officially passed the 70-miles-in-a-month mark and am set to pass 80 miles before the month is over. I feel great, running is not a drag anymore, and it’s more about when I’ll run then wether or not I will run. Running shorter distances definitely keeps me interested and motivated — how can I NOT find time for a 20 minute run every day? It’s only 20 minutes! If I don’t think I’ll have time later, I take Calvin on a 20-30 minute run, because let’s be honest, I walk him that long at least twice a day anyway. It’s all about fitting it in — and having a dog that can run 2-3 miles makes it so, so easy.

The only negative I can find is that I am doing so much laundry it’s driving me crazy. BUT, it’s worth it. And I have wearing work out clothes twice. So stinky!

I’ve still got some minor fatigue issues, but I think they’re getting better.

fatigue

I’m pretty sure the two bed hogs I live with have something to do with this issue!

I'm still a tiny bit obsessed with my phone app that lets me alter pictures

I’m still a tiny bit obsessed with my phone app that lets me alter pictures

I’ve still been sucking with my diet (working on it), and still haven’t lost anymore weight (double working on it), but I’m happy with my accomplishments this month and can’t wait to see how long I can keep this up!

Big News: This week I started using an exercise ball instead of my desk chair! Right now it’s only in 20 minute segments to prevent injury and soreness, but next week I plan to move to 30 minute segments. I have not fallen off yet, and I’m only bounced on it like a little kid minimally….

after looking at this photo, I'm wondering if I should spend a little more time cleaning my desk and a little less time bouncing on my blogging...

after looking at this photo, I’m wondering if I should spend a little more time cleaning my desk and a little less time blogging…

I’m a sloucher by nature. I slouch all the time. I sit cross legged in my desk chair a lot and lean forward. I lean back in the chair. Pretty much, I do anything I can do not be sitting up straight. And this ball changes that. It makes me focus on keeping my back straight. I makes me focus on balance. It is the right now choice for me, but you can decide for yourself. There are plenty of articles on the web about this, here are just a few:

And I am still working on Scoby’s Zero to 100 Push Ups – I’m on Phase 2, and can currently do 6-7 knee push-ups x 5 sets. Those things are freakin’ hardOne day I’ll do my real push-ups!

Now…for a sweet Friday treat!

I’ve been dying to jump on the Black Bean Brownie Bandwagon for a while now..and I’ve finally given in! And I’m so glad I did! These brownies are gluten free and great. They’re fudgey and sweet. I am in love!

Black Bean Brownies

adapted from Minimalist Baker (I LOVE HER RECIPES – but they are in no way low sugar, FYI)

Makes 14-18 brownie bites

brownies

Ingredients

  • 1 15 oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 Tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 3/4 cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 heaping coconut palm sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips (or other type)
  • Optional Toppings: chopped Walnuts, pecans chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. 
  2. Generously grease a 12-count regular size muffin tin.
  3. Puree black beans through baking powder in a food processor for about 3 minutes, scraping down sides, you want this very smooth!
  4. Stir in chocolate chips and pour batter into cupcake pan. Fill about 1/3-1/2 of the way full (makes about 16 brownies). Sprinkle on additional toppings.
  5. Bake for 20 minutes at 350 degrees.
  6. Let them cool 30 minutes, then remove from pan and cool entirely before refrigerating or freezing (they are so good frozen!)
  7. Store in an airtight container for a few days, or freeze for longer storage.

A vegan alternative recipe can be found at MINIMALIST BAKER.

Nutrition: I wrote down the nutrition somewhere for this recipe and I lost it. I will get back to you on this!

These are a-maz-ing!! Enjoy!

Happy Friday & Happy Running!

 

One thought on “Day 21 of 28 Days of Straight Runnin’ Complete!

Leave a Reply

