The Dreaded Day of Rest (and other ramblings)

I made it 35 days without taking a day off from running. 35 stinkin’ days!!

102.5 miles.

it felt so good for so long!

…and then, two days ago, my knees felt stiff and sore in the morning. so I only ran 1.5 miles. and walked 4. that might have been a little over kill. probably shouldn’t have walked 4.

…and then, yesterday, both my knees felt stiff and sore all day long. so I only ran 2 miles in the morning. and limited my walking.

…and then, today, both my knees felt stiff, and my right knee felt sore. so i took a day off running (eeek!) it’s killing me. not literally. but close.

i feel like i’m doing something wrong. but i know i’d rather restart my running streak then injure myself. after some poking, prodding, stretching, and pulling, my M.D. in training hubby told me it’s likely my IT band. and also possibly anserine bursitis. so i’m going to whip out the ol’ yoga mat and do some stretching tonight. and take it easy. avoid the treadmill that’s calling out my name. ignore the voice that will be telling me to run tomorrow morning. and hopefully feel well enough tomorrow evening or monday to run. and then see how far i can go this round!

rest up now....

rest up now….

...'cause we're gonna be out there at it again real soon!

…’cause we’re gonna be out there at it again real soon!

happy running everyone!

One thought on “The Dreaded Day of Rest (and other ramblings)

  1. Wowza, 35 days, that is amazing! And here I was feeling sorry for myself for needing a rest day just after 5 days 😉 I was getting pain too and my (non-trained running) friend told me it was likely to be my IT band too – may have to throw together some dosh to get a foam roller. Rest up well, and don’t beat yourself up too much about it, distraction is the key methinks!

Leave a Reply

