For the love of Food

I have a food problem.

It’s not really a secret, per se, but it’s something I’m kind of ashamed of.

Image

from google

I’m addicted to sugar. But I’m also pretty sure positive it makes me moody, emotionally unwell, gives me headaches, and is keeping me overweight.

I think about food all the time. Specifically candy. More specifically, chocolate. For a while I felt like I was overcoming this issue. After eating paleo-ish for 3 months (about a year ago), I felt like I was almost rid of my obsession! Sadly, I feel as though it’s recently come back full force half force (I’ll give myself some credit here. It’s not as bad as it was before we ate paleo for a little while. It’s just getting there. Sugar and I have become friends again, just not BFF’s like before).

Which is why I’m implementing a NO-CHOCOLATE 30 DAYS. Followed by an ONLY DARK CHOCOLATE 30 DAYS.

Let me backtrack. I’ve been exercising a lot. Well, maybe not a lot to everyone, but a lot for me. I’ve been going to group fitness classes for a week now (holy cow my core is so weak!), running 3-5 days a week for about 3 weeks, and swimming at least once a week since the end of May. That is a lot for me! ME! The girl who hates to cross train. ME! The girl who only runs. And runs slow. And you know how much weight I’ve lost this month?

NONE.

See the problem?

My eating habits suck. 

I’ll do great for the entire day. 

And then at night, I’ll binge. 

I’ll shove chocolate chips in my mouth like a little kid with a bucket of Halloween candy in front of them.

I’ll eat a bowl of cereal just because I “feel” hungry (as long as it has sugar in it).

I’ll dig through the cupboards until I find an old, forgotten granola bar.

I’ll just eat, to eat. And eat because I love sugar. And eat because my self control is awful.

So starting on Saturday (my birthday is on Friday and I’d really like to have my favorite iced coffee mixed with chocolate milk drink), NO CHOCOLATE FOR 30 DAYS.

Is it wrong to wait? I’m battling with the idea of just starting now. Should I “treat” myself on my birthday just to have one more day of emotional attachment to chocolate?

Why is giving up chocolate so hard for me?

Why is moderation so hard for me?

I’ve got the exercise. I’ve got the healthy meals. Now I just need to fix my snacking!

4 thoughts on “For the love of Food

  1. Ah, but chocolate is so good for you.
    You will be missing out on all the benefits of what dark chocolate does for the body.

    Make your own…with coconut oil, top quality cocoa powder (I use Cadbury/Fry’s with zero carbs) and add a dash of vanilla to heighten the cocoa and sweeten with stevia. Add toasted hazelnuts or almonds and then you will not have to eat any artificial additives or stabilizers. The added nuts are nutritious too.

    Enjoy a piece or two a day…and do not cry…but rejoice, this is good food.

    Regards,
    From Canada,
    Glad

  2. I’ve been where you are so many times in my life. Have you ever considered meditation to calm the cravings? It among others things has enabled me to finally kick the food addictions. Good luck to you. 🙂

  3. As soon as i started reading this i could understand exactly what you are going through. I am in exactly the same place. I have always enjoyed sweet things, particularly chocolate. Just over a year ago I did the cohens diet for nearly four months, during this time all fat, sugar and carbs were banned basically. I managed to loose 10kgs and was the lightest i can remember being. Once i got to my goal weight i re-found my love for chocolate, which soon spiralled out of control! It started with a small bar a couple of times a week but over six months it escalated to a large block every second night. I regained all of the weight I lost and feel so disappointed in myself! I recently discovered Sarah Wilson’s “I Quit Sugar” book and have since quit sugar. In the last two and a half weeks I have had one peanut slab (like you i thought i may as well have one last treat before i committed myself to the cold turkey stage). When ever i see chocolate advertised my mouth literally waters and i am so tempted to get in my car and drive to the closest shop to get some, but so far i have stayed strong. I know it hasn’t been long but really hope i can maintain this lifestyle (for the 8-week detox period at least)
    Hopefully we can both beat our chocolate addictions!

  4. You are not alone in the boat. I’ve been trying to outrun my diet for years and have concluded that I must not want to lose weight badly enough to give up foods that I love. Therefore I will not berate myself for the occasional treat, but I will try to be mindful of not treating myself every single day.

Leave a Reply

