A Case of the Low Carb Grouchies!

Image

I’ve decided to write everything down this time around. For memories. For reference. For fun!

I finished my first day of low carb dieting at 72 g carbs, which is not too shabby for me! It honestly wasn’t too hard, but I did wake up hungry this morning. Forgot about that. I hate waking up hungry!

Exercise Question: I’m thinking of doing my own pilates // yoga // arm & leg workouts at home this fall (after group fitness classes are over). I’ve learned a lot from my fitness classes, but I just don’t know if I want to keep going when the classes will be full of Undergrad Freshman (no offense!). Any suggestions for workout videos incorporating these techniques, along with low weights? I’m willing to buy a few pieces of equipment (bands, weights, long foam roller, etc). Thank you in advance cross-training friends!

—–

Yesterday was a stressful day. It didn’t really have much to do with starting this most recent low carb diet, but more my job.

Yesterday I found out my boss is quitting. As in, today is her last day! I was really upset for multiple reasons, but mostly because I consider her a good friend.

Since moving to Atlanta I haven’t spoken to her as much outside of work or seen her often, but I never thought I’d have to say goodbye to her! I figured I would be the one who quit first, once babies started coming into the picture and the husband was done with school, and that I’d still see her when I came up to visit my family/friends in Boston and went into work to help ease the baby-crazies I work with. So this caught me by complete surprise, scared me, upset me, and made me worry (I’m a natural worrier, it’s something I’m working on constantly, and constantly failing at).

The fact I get to work from home X-hundred miles away from my company is an amazing opportunity. It’s also only the second time someone from my department has been allowed to do so. So naturally, with my supervisor leaving, I began to worry they would want to get rid of my position. INSERT JOB HUNT INTO MY DAY.

I absolutely hate job searching. I hate the process of applying a million different times, answering the same questions, attempting to perfect a resume that I’m not even sure I’m doing right…it’s just exhausting. Add this onto my first day of low carb in 10 months AND having my supervisor/friend quit randomly…yesterday I had a case of the low carb grouchies, for sure!

My poor husband bears the brunt of this grouchiness, but my coworkers also deal with my attitude. It’s just overall not a good thing.

—–

Today is a new day. Today I will not worry, I will not grouch, I will not complain. Today I will do what I need to do to make this diet work. Today I will perfect my resume and start applying. Today I will continue on with life, and leave the grouchiness behind.

Today I will be the best me that I can be.

One thought on “A Case of the Low Carb Grouchies!

  1. I totally understand wanting to avoid the gym when you know its going to be full and crazy. I love yoga, but my home practice never gets me as good of a practice as a studio does. The only thing I can recommend is copying workouts out of magazines or blogs and letting people know that they can’t bug you when you’re in the middle of your workout!

Leave a Reply

